Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Arizona Sports Now On 98.7 FM
Latest News

Arizona Sports' 2013 Year in Review: Coach of the Year

Note: This is part of a series of posts you'll see over the next week or so on We had a panel of 16 voters, including all of our on-air personalities, cast votes in several categories like Athlete of the Year, Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Best Moment of the Year and many others.

Two of the four Major League sports franchises in Phoenix got new coaches in 2013.

In January, the Arizona Cardinals hired 60-year-old Bruce Arians, the reigning NFL Coach of the Year, to guide their ship.

In May, the Phoenix Suns tabbed one of their former players, Jeff Hornacek, to take over the reins of the franchise.

Arians and Hornacek joined a talented group of head coaches and managers already employed in Arizona.

Our panel voted, and two tied for our 2013 Coach of the Year Award.

Arians inherited a 5-11 team, and along with new general manager Steve Keim, re-tooled a roster that helped the Cardinals earn just their second 10-win season since moving to the desert in 1988. He's very much in the running for the NFL Coach of the Year Award for a second straight season. Nobody since Washington's Joe Gibbs in 1982 and 1983 has won the hardware in back-to-back seasons. And no coach ever has won the award in consecutive years for two different franchises.

In just his second year in Tempe, Todd Graham guided the Sun Devils to a 10-3 record and their first-ever Pac-12 South crown. Once again, ASU was one of the most disciplined teams in the country -- accruing an average of 29.5 penalty yards per game -- the fourth-best mark in the country.

Graham became the fourth coach in ASU history to win a conference Coach of the Year Award, joining John Cooper (1986), Bruce Snyder (1996) and Dennis Erickson (2007).

Here's how our panel voted:

Tyler Bassett: Todd Graham, ASU Football

Dan Bickley: Bruce Arians, Arizona Cardinals

Jon Bloom: Todd Graham, ASU Football

Dave Burns: Bruce Arians, Arizona Cardinals

Paul Calvisi: Bruce Arians, Arizona Cardinals

Jarrett Carlen: Bruce Arians, Arizona Cardinals

Dave Dulberg: Todd Graham, ASU Football

Doug Franz: Bruce Arians, Arizona Cardinals

John Gambadoro: (Tie) Jeff Hornacek, Phoenix Suns/Todd Graham, ASU Football

Bryan Gibberman: Jeff Hornacek, Phoenix Suns

Adam Green: Bruce Arians, Arizona Cardinals

Craig Grialou: Bruce Arians, Arizona Cardinals

Vince Marotta: Todd Graham, ASU Football

Carter Nacke: Todd Graham, ASU Football

Jules Tompkins: Todd Graham, ASU Football

Ron Wolfley: Todd Graham, ASU Football

Other Arizona Sports Year in Review Categories: Newcomer of the Year | Game of the Year | Biggest Story of the Year | Executive of the Year | Top Moment of the Year

About the Author

School: Arizona State University

When you started with Bonneville Phoenix: October 2011

Favorite sports memory: Watching Cardinals win NFC Championship over Philly in January 2009 with my Dad...ASU wins 1987 Rose Bowl...Suns defeat Lakers in 1990 NBA Playoffs...2001 World Series

Favorite all-time athletes: Don Mattingly, Jeff Hornacek, Walter Davis, Anquan Boldin

Favorite sports movies: Friday Night Lights, The Natural, Hoosiers


comments powered by Disqus
Latest News