Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Arizona Sports Now On 98.7 FM
Latest News
Updated Mar 4, 2014 - 9:02 am

Arizona Sports Hall of Fame announces inductees

The Phoenix Regional Sports Commission will add four members to the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame this April.

Art Martori

The four come from a wide variety of backgrounds in impacting the state. Arthur J. Martori was the founder of Sunkist Kids Wrestling Club, Emmett "Buddy" Jobe purchased land in Avondale and Phoenix International Raceway became one of the premier race tracks in the country, Scott Hogsett is a three-time Paralympic Wheelchair Rugby medalist and Jerry Dawson, the legendary Arizona high school baseball coach.

Martori won a conference title for Arizona State and multiple state championships while wrestling for the Phoenix Wristlock Club.

A leader and role model for the sport of wrestling for more than 40 years, Martori is a member of the National Italian American Sports and National Wrestling Halls of Fame, and the recipient of a Gold Star awarded by FILA, the international governing body of wrestling.

Emmett "Buddy" Jobe.

As an Arizona rancher, "Buddy" Jobe bought a one-mile oval racetrack west of Phoenix in 1985. The invested land brought stock car racing to Phoenix.

Jobe sold the track in 1997 but stayed on as president until 2002.

Hogsett has been playing wheelchair rugby for 19 years, 11 of them as a part of Team USA. In his time on the team he has won three Paralympic medals, one gold and two bronze. He also has two gold medals in the World Championships and was the US Quad Rugby Association Athlete of the Year in 2007.

Scott Hogsett

He's a role model for all athletes and shares his story as a motivational speaker and a mentor to spinal cord injury patients.

Dawson put in 37 years as the head baseball coach at Chaparral High School in Scottsdale. He has the most wins in the state with 774. The team won eight state championships under his leadership. He was a five-time National Coach of the Year recipient and has been inducted into the Arizona Coaches Association, Arizona Baseball Coaches Association and the National High School Baseball Coaches Association Halls of Fame.

Jerry Dawson

This year's induction ceremony will also include the introduction of the 2014 Youth Sports Awards winners for "Coach of the Year," "Athlete of the Year" and "Contributor of the Year."

The 2014 induction ceremony will be held Wednesday, April 16 at the PERA Pavilion at 1 E. Continental Drive in Tempe, Ariz. This is the 44th class to be inducted into the hall.

For more information or to purchase tickets, visit or call the Phoenix Regional Sports Commission at 480.517.9700.

About the Author


comments powered by Disqus
Latest News