Register | Forgot Your Password? | Close
Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Login or Register
Former Phoenix Suns point guard Kevin Johnson moved one step closer to basketball immortality Friday.

Johnson, who played in parts of 11 seasons with the Suns, was named one of 10 finalists for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame's Class of 2014.

During his career, the three-time All-Star averaged 17.9 points, 9.1 assists and 1.5 steals per game. He also made the All-NBA Second Team on four occasions and was named the 1989 Most Improved Player.

The former Suns guard, who now serves as the mayor of Sacramento, would become the ninth member of the organization to make the Hall of Fame, joining Charles Barkley (1992-96), Connie Hawkins (1969-1973), Dennis Johnson (1980-83), Gail Goodrich (1968-1970), Gus Johnson (1972), Pat Riley (1975-76), Ann Meyers-Drysdale (2005-Present) and Jerry Colangelo (1968-2004).

The other finalists for the Class of 2014 include: Alonzo Mourning, Eddie Sutton, Gary Williams, Harley Redin, Mitch Ritchmond, Nolan Richardson, Spencer Haywood and Tim Hardaway.

Arizona Sports,

share this story:
Attention Comment Users: We have recently changed our comments boards.
We would like you to be part of the conversation with all fans of Arizona sports teams by logging in with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing Arizona Sports (KTAR) account members will need to create a Disqus account or use one of the aforementioned social media logins. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus
Team Leaders