Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Arizona Sports Now On 98.7 FM
Latest News


Arizona State Sun Devils

Updated Jul 8, 2013 - 10:16 am

ASU's Will Sutton, Carl Bradford on Bednarik Award Watch List

Defensive tackle Will Sutton and linebacker Carl Bradford of the Arizona State Sun Devil football team have been named to the Watch List for the 2013 Bednarik Award, given annually to the defensive collegiate football player of the year.

Sutton, the reigning Pat Tillman Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, wreaked havoc on opponents in 2012, piling up 13 sacks and 23.5 tackles for loss.

Bradford, a redshirt junior from Norco, Calif., ranked 11th in the nation with 1.58 tackles for loss per game, and 17th in sacks with 11.5.

Arizona State is one of only 15 schools with two or more players on the Bednarik Award Watch List. Notre Dame leads the way with four candidates, followed by Alabama, Florida State, LSU, Ohio State and Stanford with three each. Florida, Georgia Tech, Louisville, Michigan State, San Jose State, Tennessee, UCLA and USC join ASU with two candidates each.

About the Author

School: Arizona State University

When you started with Bonneville Phoenix: October 2011

Favorite sports memory: Watching Cardinals win NFC Championship over Philly in January 2009 with my Dad...ASU wins 1987 Rose Bowl...Suns defeat Lakers in 1990 NBA Playoffs...2001 World Series

Favorite all-time athletes: Don Mattingly, Jeff Hornacek, Walter Davis, Anquan Boldin

Favorite sports movies: Friday Night Lights, The Natural, Hoosiers


comments powered by Disqus
Latest News