Share this story...
Latest News

D-backs’ Paul Goldschmidt wins third Silver Slugger Award

Arizona Diamondbacks' Paul Goldschmidt connects for a two-run home run against the Los Angeles Dodgers during the first inning of a baseball game Wednesday, Aug. 30, 2017, in Phoenix. (AP Photo/Ross D. Franklin)

The Arizona Diamondbacks’ Paul Goldschmidt took home his third Silver Slugger Award on Thursday.

Goldschmidt beat out an impressive group at first base in the National League that included the Reds’ Joey Votto and Washington’s Ryan Zimmerman.

The 30-year-old Goldschmidt hit .297 with 36 home runs and 120 RBI. Goldschmidt was third among NL first basemen in OPS (.967), tied for second in home runs and was first in RBI and runs scored (117).

It’s been a good week for Goldy, as he also got his third Gold Glove Award on Tuesday and was announced as an NL MVP Finalist on Monday.

His past two wins for the Silver Slugger Award came in 2013 and 2015. Goldschmidt, in fact, is the only D-back to win it more than once.

The last D-back to win it outside of Goldschmidt was Aaron Hill in 2012.

Daniel Hudson (2011), Justin Upton (2011), Micah Owings (2007) and Luis Gonzalez (2001) are the other winners in franchise history.


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus
Related Links

D-backs Interviews and Segments