Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Arizona Sports 98.7 FM


High School Sports

Updated Apr 30, 2015 - 2:13 pm

Pima top seed in eight-man playoffs that begin Oct. 25-26

The bracket has been set, and the Division VI eight-man football playoffs begin Friday (Oct. 25) and Saturday (Oct. 26).

The top four seeds in the 12-team bracket earned first-round byes. They are Pima (1), Gilbert Christian (2), Bagdad (3) and St. David (4).

There is one first-round game on Friday, the rest on Saturday.

Friday’s game features No. 9 Salome against No. 8 Phoenix Valley Lutheran with a 6 p.m. kickoff at Gilbert Christian.

Saturday’s first-round games are No. 12 Joseph City at No. 5 Heber Mogollon (6 p.m.), No. 11 Mesa Prep at No. 6 Peoria Glendale Prep (2 p.m.) and No. 10 Duncan at No. 7 Kearny Ray (6 p.m.).

Pima will host a quarterfinal game against the Salome-Valley Lutheran winner on Nov. 2 at 6 p.m. Other quarterfinal games, all at the same time on Nov. 2, are the Joseph City-Mogollon winner at St. David, the Mesa Prep-Glendale Prep winner at Bagdad and the Duncan-Ray winner at Gilbert Christian.

The semifinals are Nov. 9 (2 p.m. and 6 p.m.) at Phoenix Shadow Mountain, and the championship game is Nov. 16 (6 p.m.) at Shadow Mountain.

In the 2012 title game, Glendale Joy Christian defeated Pima, but Joy Christian since has moved up to 11-man Division V.

Joseph City won three straight crowns before that.

Other 2013 participants that have won titles: Pima (2004 and 2005), Mogollon (2008), St. David (2000 and 2001) and Salome (1980).



Upcoming Games Streaming Live


comments powered by Disqus