Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Arizona Sports 98.7 FM


High School Sports

Updated Apr 30, 2015 - 2:06 pm

4th annual Primetime boys hoops tourney set for June 20-21

A couple staples of the annual eight-team, Primetime Summer Boys Basketball Tournament are back along with several newcomers Friday (June 20) and Saturday (June 21) at Tempe High School.

Primetime features eight of the top programs projected for the coming 2014-2015 season with games Friday afternoon and evening and Saturday morning and through early afternoon. Three-time defending big-school champ Corona del Sol is the top seed and won the tournament last year. Pinnacle, which won in 2012 and 2013, garnered the No. 5 seed. The rest of the field in order of seed — No. 2 Chaparral, No. 3 Shadow Mountain, the defending D-II champ, No. 4 Gilbert, No. 6 Desert Vista, No. 7 Tempe High and No. 8 Sunnyslope. First-time teams selected are Shadow Mountain, Sunnyslope and Tempe.

Game schedule for Friday opens with exhibitions at 5 and 6 p.m. The 5 p.m. games match Corona del Sol and Desert Vista and Shadow Mountain and Sunnyslope. The 6 p.m. games are Gilbert vs. Tempe and Chaparral vs. Pinnacle.

Bracket play begins Friday at 7 p.m. with No. 1 Corona vs. No. 8 Sunnyslope and No. 6 Desert Vista vs. No. 3 Shadow Mountain. At 8 p.m. it's No. 4 Gilbert vs. No. 5 Pinnacle and No. 2 Chaparral vs. No. 7 Tempe. Play continues Saturday with loser's bracket games at 10 a.m. and winner's bracket games at 11 a.m. Consolation games are at noon with the third-place and championship games tipping at 1 p.m.

Among the players expected to participate are Dane Kuiper, Alex Barcello and Marvin Bagley Jr. (Corona del Sol), Kenzo Nudo (Chaparral), Carlos Johnson (Shadow Mountain), Truman Moore (Gilbert), Delano Jones and Emanuel Gant (Tempe), Sammy Barnes-Thompkins (Sunnyslope), Ben Wahlberg (PInnacle) and Brandon Clarke (Desert Vista).





Read More

Upcoming Games Streaming Live


comments powered by Disqus