Share this story...
Latest News

Trivia Tuesday: Major champions since Tiger Woods’ last win

In 2008, Tiger Woods won the U.S. Open at Torrey Pines Golf Course in La Jolla, Calif.

It was Woods’ 14th major championship, and considering that his first came only 11 years earlier at The Masters in 1997, it marked the most dominant run by any single golfer in history.

As of now, that ’08 U.S. Open win was also Tiger’s last in a major. He remains active, and has actually played pretty well early in 2018, but hasn’t been able to end the drought.

There have been 39 major tournaments held since Woods’ last win, and 30 different golfers have hoisted trophies.

That’s your Trivia Tuesday challenge for this week — name the champions of each major since Tiger’s last triumph.

We’ve given you the year and the tournament, you just have to name the golfer. OK — we’ll give you another hint. Here’s the breakdown of the 30 champions by their nationality:

United States: 14
Northern Ireland: 3
South Africa: 3
Australia: 2
England: 2
Argentina: 1
Germany: 1
Ireland: 1
South Korea: 1
Spain: 1
Sweden: 1

Good luck!

Related Links