Share this story...
Latest News

Jake Plummer among ASU players on College Football Hall of Fame ballot

(AP Photos)

The 2019 College Football Hall of Fame inductees could include one or more former Arizona State Sun Devils.

Former players David Fulcher and Jake Plummer as well as coaches Darryl Rogers and Dennis Erickson are among the players and coaches on the Football Bowl Subdivision portion of the 2019 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Fulcher and Plummer are both returning to the ballot for the second time, while Rogers and Erickson are appearing for the first time.

Fulcher was a two-time consensus All-American and three-time All-Pac-10 selection from 1983-85. He recorded 286 total tackles and 14 career interceptions, including six interceptions in 1985.

Plummer was the 1996 Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year, when he led ASU to an undefeated regular season and a Rose Bowl berth. The quarterback left ASU as the school’s leader in touchdown passes (65), pass attempts (1,142), pass completions (632) and passing yards (8,827).

Rogers compiled a 37-18-1 record with ASU from 1980-84. The head coach most notably led ASU to defeat Oklahoma in the 1982 Fiesta Bowl.

Erickson came to Tempe in 2007 and posted a 10-3 record before losing in the Holiday Bowl. He finished at ASU with an even 31-31 record.

The announcement of the 2019 Class will be made Jan. 7, 2019, in Santa Clara, Calif.


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus

Sun Devils Interviews and Podcasts