Share this story...
Latest News

D-backs’ Brad Ziegler tweets his frustrations on costly replay review

Arizona Diamondbacks relief pitcher Brad Ziegler throws against the Atlanta Braves during the eighth inning of a baseball game, Friday, Sept. 7, 2018, in Phoenix. (AP Photo/Ralph Freso)

The Arizona Diamondbacks had a breaking point in the eighth inning of a 6-2 loss to the Colorado Rockies Friday night, and reliever Brad Ziegler objected to the replay review of that breaking point after the game.

With a runner on and one out in a tied 2-2 score, starter Zack Greinke exited the game. Jake Diekman took his place, and hit Rockies outfielder Charlie Blackmon with his first pitch.

That was all for Diekman, who was replaced by Ziegler.

On his second pitch to Rockies second baseman DJ LeMahieu, Ziegler’s sinker was grounded back to the mound.

Ziegler threw the ball to second for the forceout, but shortstop Nick Ahmed’s throw to first was not in time to result in an inning-ending double play.

D-backs manager Torey Lovullo challenged the play, however, as a replay of Blackmon’s slide into second showed he lifted his arms up while going into second, potentially making it an illegal slide.

The challenge did not overturn the play. From that point on, Ziegler allowed four straight hitters to reach base that ended in four runs for the Rockies and a 6-2 deficit for the D-backs.

Ziegler tweeted in objection to the replay at the conclusion of the game, highlighting the parts of the rule that include a motion of throwing arms in the air.

Ziegler said after the game he was aware of the rule as it happened but wanted to see a replay when he got back to the clubhouse to be sure he saw what he saw.

“I think it’s pretty clear by, at least, letter of the law that it’s an illegal slide,” he said. “It’s unfortunate that they, for whatever reason, didn’t see it that way but when you watch the replay it’s obvious he made contact with him with his hands.”

Despite the results after the play, Ziegler denied the decision changing the way the next at-bats went and said he believed he threw good pitches.

Lovullo said after the game he has to know more about the rule before stating anything more than what he saw during the play.

“It turned out to be a huge part of the game,” he said. “I’ve seen that play called where they would call a double play and I’ve also seen it go the way it went tonight so maybe a little inconsistent at times but they do the best job they possibly can when they are sitting in that replay booth in New York.”

The D-backs did not score in the eighth or ninth inning and wound up losing the game 6-2.

D-backs Interviews and Segments