Bonneville Phoenix Network
 KTAR News
 Arizona Sports
Arizona Sports 98.7 FM
Updated Apr 30, 2015 - 1:59 pm

44th Arizona Sports Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony | Wednesday, April 16th

The Phoenix Regional Sports Commission cordially invites you to the 44th Annual Arizona Sports Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony on Wednesday, April 16th. Join the committee members as they honor this year’s inductees at the Pera Club Pavilion in Tempe, Ariz (1 E. Continental Dr Tempe, AZ 85281). Click here for a complete list of ticket options or register to win two!


Art Matori competed at ASU in 1965 and won the Western Athletic Conference title. He also won the Arizona AAU Freestyle and Greco-Roman state championships while wrestling for the Phoenix Wristlock Club. Serving as the President of USA Wrestling from 1992-94, Martori made great strides to promote the growth of the organization. While he served as president, USA Wrestling won its first World team title in freestyle wrestling.

Emmett Jobe was a 1962 graduate of Chandler High School. In 1985, Buddy purchased the twenty-one year old Phoenix International Raceway. At the time it had 10,000 seats. Under his directorship PIR became one of the top race tracks in the country. Seating was increased to 65,000, and attendance would often top 100,000 spectators.

Jerry Dawson served as the head baseball coach at Chaparral High School in Scottsdale, Arizona for the 37 years. Dawson owns the most high school career victories in the state of Arizona with 774. His teams enjoyed tremendous success over the years, qualifying for post-season play 35 of the 37 years of the program’s existence.

Scott Hogsett headed to Beijing as a member of the 2004 U.S. Paralympic Wheelchair Rugby Team and knew that the 2008 version of Team USA was extremely talented. Hoping for nothing less than a gold medal the U.S. Paralympic Wheelchair Rugby Team came away victorious, winning many of its matches in convincing fashion. Hogsett and Team USA also took home the gold medal at the 2010 World Wheelchair Rugby Championships.


comments powered by Disqus