Share this story...
Diamondbacks rotation begins to take shape
Latest News

Diamondbacks rotation begins to take shape

Arizona Diamondbacks manager Kirk Gibson announced that Ian Kennedy will be the Opening Day starter on April 1 when the team faces the St. Louis Cardinals.

The six-year veteran had a 15-12 record with a 4.02 ERA in 2012, but went 21-4 with a 2.88 ERA in 2011.

Following Kennedy will be Trevor Cahill, Wade Miley and Brandon McCarthy in that order, according to Gibson.

Cahill put together a 13-12 record with a 3.78 ERA in his first year as a D-back in 2012.

Miley led all D-backs starters with 16 wins and a 3.33 ERA as a rookie last season.

In Oakland, McCarthy started the 2012 season with a 8-6 record and 3.24 ERA for the A’s before a season-ending concussion put him out in September.

The fifth spot in the rotation is still up for grabs between Randall Delgado, Tyler Skaggs and Patrick Corbin.