Share this story...
Latest News

D-backs’ Goldschmidt wins 2013 Hank Aaron Award

Major League Baseball announced Sunday that Arizona Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Godschmidt has won a 2013 Hank Aaron Award, given to the most outstanding offensive player in each league.

Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers won the award in the American League.

Winners were determined by a fan vote and panel of Hall of Fame players, which included Hank Aaron and Tony Gwynn, among others.

Goldschmidt was selected to his first career All-Star Game in 2013 on his way to a season in which he hit .302 with 36 doubles, 36 home runs, 125 RBIs, 99 walks and 103 runs scored. The 26-year-old led the National League in slugging percentage (.551), extra-base hits (75), RBI and total bases (332), and tied for first in homers. He also ranked third in walks, tied for third in runs scored, fourth with a .401 on-base percentage and tied for 10th in doubles.

Among all Major Leaguers, the right-handed slugger tied for first in go-ahead RBI (37), go-ahead home runs (20), walk-off homers (3), and home runs after the eighth inning (7), while tying for most game-winning RBI (19) and RBI with runners in scoring position (84).

This is the third straight season that a member of an NL West team has won the Hank Aaron award, after the Giants’ Buster Posey in 2012 and Dodgers’ Matt Kemp and 2011.

Goldschmidt is also a finalist for a Rawlings Gold Glove Award. Winners will be announced Tuesday at 4 p.m. on ESPN2.

D-backs Interviews and Segments