Share this story...
Latest News

Randy Johnson unanimous selection in ESPN’s 2015 Baseball Hall of Fame ballot

The 2015 class of the Baseball Hall of Fame will be announced on Tuesday, but 17 writers from ESPN gave their votes on Sunday.

Two players were unanimous selections by the ESPN crew: Pedro Martinez and former Arizona Diamondbacks pitcher Randy Johnson.

Johnson was the only ex-Diamondback to receive enough votes to be selected in this mini version of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America election.

The “Big Unit” played a whopping 22 seasons, winning 303 games. He had a career ERA of 3.29 and the second most strikeouts of all-time, 4,875, behind only Nolan Ryan.

Johnson played eight seasons with the D-backs from 1999-2004 and 2007-2008. He performed his best with Arizona, winning 118 games and posting a 2.83 ERA and 2,077 strikeouts.

As for other players with Arizona connections, pitcher Curt Schilling received just eight of 17 votes for his 20-year career. Former D-backs bench coach Alan Trammell received three votes for his 20-year shortstop career with the Detroit Tigers.

In addition to the two pitchers listed above, outfielder Tim Raines, pitcher John Smoltz, infielder Craig Biggio and catcher Mike Piazza received more than 75 percent of votes, the required amount to be elected in the actual Baseball Hall of Fame.