Share this story...
Latest News

Plummer headlines AZ Sports Hall of Fame class

The Arizona Sports Hall of Fame unveiled its four-member
induction class on Friday morning, and it will include
former ASU and Arizona Cardinal quarterback Jake Plummer.

Plummer will be joined in this year’s class by Olympic
swimming medalist Misty Hyman, former major leaguer Tim
Salmon and former NFL quarterback Rodney Peete. The class
will also include a team or civic group that will be
chosen by a public vote at

The induction ceremony, the 42nd in the history of the
Arizona Hall of Fame, will take place March 29 at Wild
Horse Pass Hotel and Casino.

Plummer quarterbacked Arizona State from 1993 to 1996,
leading the Sun Devils to a Pac-10 championship in his
senior season, when he finished third in the Heisman
Trophy voting.

After being a 2nd round pick of the Cardinals in 1997,
Plummer quarterbacked Arizona for the next six seasons,
throwing for 17,622 yards and 90 touchdowns. The
highlight of Plummer’s tenure with the Cardinals was
undoubtedly their 20-7 playoff win over the Cowboys in
Dallas in the 1998 season. It was the franchise’s first
postseason win in 51 years.

Hyman, who attended Shadow Mountain High School in
Phoenix, won the gold medal in the 200 meter butterfly at
the 2000 Summer Olympics in Sydney, Australia.

Salmon starred at Greenway High School in Phoenix on the
baseball diamond before attending Grand Canyon University.
The California Angels selected Salmon in the third round
of the 1989 draft and he made his big league debut in
1992, when he won the American League Rookie of the Year
Award. Salmon spent his entire 14-year career in Anaheim,
helping the Halos win their only World Series championship
in 2002. He retired in 2006 as the Angels’ all-time
leader in home runs with 299.

Peete played his prep football at Sahuaro High School in
Tucson before starring at USC. With the Trojans, Peete
finished 2nd in the 1988 Heisman Trophy balloting behind
Oklahoma State’s Barry Sanders. Peete would go on to play
16 seasons in the NFL for six teams, throwing for 16,338
yards and 76 touchdowns.

The five nominees for the team or civic group that can be
voted on for induction by the public are:

• The undefeated 1975 Fiesta Bowl champion Arizona
State Sun Devils, coached by Frank Kush

• The 1992-93 Western Conference champion Phoenix
Suns, who lost to the Chicago Bulls in the NBA Finals in
six games.

• The 1994 Arizona Rattlers, who won the Arena Bowl
to give Phoenix its first-ever professional sports title.

• The 2001 Arizona Diamondbacks, who defeated the New
York Yankees in seven games to win the World Series for
the only time in team history.

• The 2001 University of Arizona Softball team that
went 65-4 and won their sixth NCAA championship.

To vote for one of these five finalists or to purchase
tickets to the 42nd Arizona Sports Hall of Fame Induction,