Share this story...
Latest News

D-backs ace Zack Greinke wins third straight Gold Glove Award

Arizona Diamondbacks starter Zack Greinke watches a pitch during the first inning of a baseball game against the Los Angeles Dodgers, Monday, Sept. 5, 2016, in Los Angeles. (AP Photo/Mark J. Terrill)

Arizona Diamondbacks pitcher Zack Greinke earned his third straight Gold Glove Award, taking the National League honor over the Chicago Cubs’ Jake Arrieta and the St. Louis Cardinals’ Adam Wainwright.

The award recognizes the best defensive players at their respective positions and is voted upon by managers and coaches.

Greinke is the sixth NL pitcher to win the Gold Glove Award three years in a row and joins an exclusive list that includes Harvey Haddix (1958-60), Bobby Shantz (1961-64), Bob Gibson (1965-73), Phil Niekro (1978-80) and Greg Maddux (1990-2002, ’04-08).

Greinke had quite a few balls hit in his direction on the mound in 2016 with 49 total chances (fifth in MLB). He recorded 28 assists with four involvements in double plays and a .980 fielding percentage. Greinke tallied just one error on the year and seven defensive runs saved, good for a second-place tie in MLB.

Diamondbacks teammates Paul Goldschmidt and Jean Segura were each one of three finalists for Gold Glove Awards at first and second base, respectively, but did not win.

The Cubs’ Anthony Rizzo took the first base award for the NL while Segura was passed over in favor of the Giants’ Joe Panik.

Related Links