Share this story...
Latest News

Eight ESPN panelists see playoffs for 2014 Arizona Cardinals

A lot of people work for ESPN. Seriously. A lot of people.

The fine folks at the Worldwide Leader put out their NFL predictions from a panel of 64 contributors in four different areas — ESPN personalities, national contributors, NFC reporters and AFC reporters.

So how did the Cardinals fare in the eyes of the panel?

Only 12.5 percent (8-of-64) have the Cardinals reaching the playoffs in 2014. Seven have penciled them in for a wild card berth, while only one — David Newton, who covers the Carolina Panthers for the network — has Arizona winning the rugged NFC West.

Twenty-one voters think a team from the NFC West will be hoisting the Vince Lombardi Trophy in Glendale Feb. 1, but none see the Cardinals doing it on their home field. The San Francisco 49ers received 12 votes while the defending champion Seattle Seahawks got nine.

In terms of award winners, only one voter — Vaughn McClure, who covers the Atlanta Falcons — has an NFC West player gaining hardware. He’s got San Francisco quarterback Colin Kaepernick taking it home.

Three division coaches got votes for Coach of the Year. San Fran’s Jim Harbaugh led the way with three, while Seattle’s Pete Carroll got two and Arizona’s Bruce Arians received one.

In terms of rookies, 49ers running back Carlos Hyde got one vote for Offensive Rookie of the Year while St. Louis’ Aaron Donald got four votes for the defensive honor.