Share this story...
Latest News

D-backs announce 2017 spring training rosters; De La Rosa a non-roster invitee

New Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo speaks to the media at an introductory press conference Monday, Nov. 7, 2016, at Chase Field n Phoenix. (AP Photo/Matt York)

Led by first-year head coach Torey Lovullo and first-year GM Mike Hazen, the Arizona Diamondbacks will open their 20th season Monday, Feb. 13, when catchers and pitchers report to the team’s spring training facility, the team announced Monday.

The following day will mark the first day of spring workouts that are open to the public at Salt River Fields at Talking Stick, while position players report that Thursday, Feb. 16. The full team will work out for the first time the next day, Feb. 17, and the team will first play this spring in its Feb. 22 exhibition game against Grand Canyon University.

Arizona will open its MLB spring training schedule Feb. 25 against the Colorado Rockies.

The D-backs on Monday also released their 40-man spring training roster and an additional 14 non-roster invitees that include pitcher Rubby De La Rosa.

D-backs 40-man roster

Right-handed pitchers (15): Jake Barrett (33), Silvino Bracho (61), Archie Bradley (25), Enrique Burgos (36), Randall Delgado (48), Zack Godley (52), Zack Greinke (21), Tyler Jones (53), Matt Koch (55), Evan Marshall (50), Shelby Miller (26), Fernando Rodney (56), Jimmie Sherfy (68), Braden Shipley (34) and Taijuan Walker (99).

Left-handed pitchers (5): Anthony Banda (70), Andrew Chafin (40), Patrick Corbin (46), Steve Hathaway (32) and Robbie Ray (38).

Catchers (4): Juan Graterol (29), Oscar Hernandez (28), Chris Hermann (10) and Jeff Mathis (2).

Infielders (11): Nick Ahmed (13), Brandon Drury (27), Paul Goldschmidt (44), Phil Gosselin (15), Jake Lamb (22), Domingo Leyba (74), Dawel Lugo (71), Ketel Marte (4), Chris Owings (16), Jack Reinheimer (76) and Illdemaro Vargas (73).

Outfielders (5): Socrates Brito (19), Jeremy Hazelbaker (41), David Peralta (6), A.J. Pollock (11) and Yasmany Tomás (24).

D-backs spring training non-roster invitees

Right-handed pitchers (6): Erik Davis (58), Rubby De La Rosa (12), Miller Diaz (67), J.J. Hoover (-), Joey Krehbiel (65) and Keyvius Sampson (47).

Left-handed pitchers (4): Daniel Gibson (72), Jared Miller (63), Yuhei Nakaushiro (64) and Josh Taylor (62).

Infielders (1): Kris Negron (3)

Outfielders (3): Oswaldo Arcia (31), Reymond Fuentes (66) and Jason Pridie (30).


Related Links