Share this story...
Latest News

Arizona Wildcats look to finally push through in the Pac-12 Tournament

LISTEN: Bearing Down with Adam and Jarrett - March 11, 2015

The Pac-12 Tournament has been, in recent seasons, a house of horrors for the Arizona Wildcats.

Most years the ‘Cats entered as one of the highest seeds — often the top seed — and most years, they are not the ones holding a trophy when it’s all over.

And the losses have been painful. Oh, how they have been painful.

In the last four seasons Arizona has lost in the championship game three times — in 2011 to Washington (77-75 in OT), 2012 to Colorado (53-51) and in 2014 to UCLA (75-71) — and in the semifinals to the Bruins in 2013 in the infamous “he touched the ball” game.

This year will be the 18th Pac-12 Tournament, which has been won by Arizona just four times. The Wildcats, who were victorious in 1988, 1989, 1990 and 2002, are tied with UCLA for the most Pac-12 Tournament championships.

They’d certainly like to add to their total, though to some degree, Arizona coach Sean Miller is more concerned with how his team, which won the Pac-12 regular season title, plays.