Share this story...
Latest News

Blackshear leads No. 17 Louisville past Florida St 81-59

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (AP) — Wayne Blackshear scored 18 points and Montrezl Harrell added 16 points as No. 17 Louisville cruised to an 81-59 win over Florida State on Saturday.

Anton Gill made all five of his shots from the floor to finish with 14 points as Louisville (23-6, 11-5 ACC) closed February with its third straight win.

Louisville shot 31 of 64 (48.4 percent) for the game as the Cardinals surpassed the 70-point mark for the first time in eight February games.

Montay Brandon scored 13 points on 5 of 6 shooting and Boris Bojanovsky added 11 points and nine rebounds for FSU (15-15, 7-10 ACC). But the Seminoles had 21 turnovers, including 13 in the first half.

Three days after he scored 30 points in the final 4:38 of a loss at Miami, Xavier Rathan-Mayes had two points in the first half and finished 5 of 16 for 12 points.

Louisville led 36-26 at halftime and led by as many as 26 points, 64-38, after a 3-pointer by Gill with 10:06 left in the game.

FSU never could get in gear in the first half, missing its first nine shots until Bojanovsky made a basket in the lane at the 12:22 mark.

Louisville’s pressure defense frustrated FSU. The Cardinals had 10 steals, six by Terry Rozier.


Rozier had 22 or more points in six of the last 10 games going into Saturday. But Rozier missed all five first-half shots and finished with 10 points on 3-of-14 shooting.


Louisville and FSU haven’t played in men’s basketball since the Metro Conference tournament championship game on March 9, 1991. The Seminoles rallied from a 20-point deficit to win the title 76-69.


Louisville: The Cardinals have shot 47 percent or better from the field in 13 games this season.

Florida State: Leonard Hamilton has won 234 games and remains two short of tying J.K. Kennedy (1949-66) for FSU’s all-time coaching victory leader.


Louisville: The Cardinals play host to Notre Dame on Wednesday.

Florida State: The Seminoles host Pittsburgh on March 7.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.