NAU trio earn All-Conference honors

Mar 4, 2011, 2:53 AM | Updated: 2:54 am

FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. – Senior guard Cameron Jones was one three unanimous selections to the All-Big Sky first team and the only two-time first-team selection, the conference office announced. Sophomore Gabe Rogers was chosen to the second team and senior Shane Johannsen earned honorable mention honors.

“It is a nice accomplishment for those guys,” said Head Coach Mike Adras. “I think it says more about the team success to have three players honored. They are three student-athletes that deserve it.”

It is the third all-conference honors for Jones, who was an honorable mention selection in 2009 and a unanimous All-Big Sky first-team choice in 2010. The Los Angeles, Calif., native and product of Los Alamitos High School has averaged 19.8 points per game, ranking second in the Big Sky and 24th in the NCAA this season. He also ranks among league leaders in field goal percentage assists, free throw percentage and three-point field goal percentage.

He is a finalist for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award to be announced at the Final Four.

Sophomore Gabe Rogers, a native of Houston, Texas, was named to the All-Big Sky second team. He has averaged 13.0 points per game with 2.4 rebounds and 2.4 assists this season while ranking among the national leaders in three-point shooting. Rogers is second in the Big Sky and Division I overall in three-point field goal percentage at 49.0 percent, the seventh-best single-season three-point percentage in school history. He has made 72 three-pointers on the season.

“It is a great feeling and means I have earned some respect around the league,” said Rogers. “I am glad Coach put me in the position to perform and I have grown since my freshman year. It is a blessing.”

Senior forward Shane Johannsen earned All-Big Sky honorable mention selection. The Phoenix Valley Christian product has averaged 9.7 points per game (29th in Big Sky) and 6.5 rebounds (8th in Big Sky) while leading Division I and the Big Sky in field goal percentage at 73.5 percent. He reset the single-season blocks mark and will finish his career as the top shooter in school history percentage-wise.

“It is cool and the first time since I have been here,” said Johannsen of his first all-league selection. “It means a lot that the hard work and the contributions my teammates have made to me have paid off. They pass me the ball. It is a testament to this team and the hard work we put in.”

Northern Colorado senior guard Devon Beitzel was tabbed the league’s top player by the coaches, who selected the individual award winners and All-Conference team on Thursday. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Montana senior Brian Qvale, the conference’s all-time shot blocker, was named the Defensive Player of the Year. The Weber State Wildcats claimed the other two individual awards. Sophomore transfer Scott Bamforth was named the Newcomer of the Year. Forward Byron Fulton was tabbed as the Freshman of the Year.

The Lumberjacks play host to Montana State on Saturday in the Big Sky Tournament Quarterfinals at 6:35 p.m. at the Rolle Activity Center. The winner advances to the semifinals on Tuesday in Greeley, Colo.


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus

Northern Arizona

2024 U.S. Olympic Team Trials...

Arizona Sports

NAU runner Nico Young qualifies for US Olympic team

Northern Arizona University will be represented on the track at the Paris Olympics, as distance runner Nico Young qualified for Team USA.

28 days ago

A general view of Atlanta Celebrates The Tour Championship! at College Football Hall of Fame on Sep...

Ryan Pasiecznik

ASU, NAU represented on 2025 College Football Hall of Fame ballot

Two former Arizona State Sun Devils and a Northern Arizona Lumberjack are among those on the 2025 College Football Hall of Fame ballot.

2 months ago

South Carolina celebrates winning an NCAA Championship...

Associated Press

NCAA women’s title between South Carolina, Iowa was most-watched hoops game in 5 years

South Carolina's victory over Iowa in the women's NCAA championship game had a preliminary audience average of 18.7 million on ABC and ESPN.

3 months ago

Caitlin Clark and members of the Iowa women's basketball team celebrate their Final Four win over U...

Associated Press

Caitlin Clark leads Iowa rally for win over UConn in women’s Final Four

Caitlin Clark scored 21 points and made three big 3-pointers in the second half to rally Iowa past Paige Bueckers and UConn, 71-69.

4 months ago

Caitlin Clark celebrates...

Associated Press

Iowa’s Caitlin Clark is inspiring a younger generation of players

Caitlin Clark's deep range has expanded the scope of possibilities for up-and-coming women's basketball players.

4 months ago

Nothern Arizona University logo (NAU)...

Associated Press

Nothern Arizona football hires former Pittsburg State coach Brian Wright

Northern Arizona has hired former Pittsburg State coach Brian Wright as its next football coach to replace Chris Ball.

8 months ago

NAU trio earn All-Conference honors