Share this story...
Latest News

Arizona Coyotes celebrate 20 years in the Valley

Now that they’ve been in the Phoenix area for 20 years, the Arizona Coyotes are celebrating with a visit from alumni, throwback jerseys and more.

For their game against the San Jose Sharks at Gila River Arena on Saturday, which included a Keith Tkachuk bobblehead giveaway, the Coyotes paraded their former stars and current players, all donned in the classic black “Kachina” jerseys.

The Yotes also rolled out their “All-Time Starting Six,” which includes three current players: goaltender Mike Smith, defenseman Oliver Ekman-Larsson and the captain Shane Doan. The alumni in the Starting Six included Teppo Numminen, Jeremy Roenick and Keith Tkachuk.

Doan is the Coyotes’ all-time leader in goals (401), assists (563) games played (1523). Smith has the third-lowest goals against average (2.67) and save percentage (.916) among goalies who played at least 100 games, and Ekman-Larsson led NHL defensemen in goals with 23 in the 2014-15 season.

Numminen scored 108 goals and was the captain for two seasons in Arizona, posting the second-highest plus-minus rating in team history (+42). Tkachuk was the very first captain in the desert, scoring 40 game-winning goals and the fourth-most points in franchise history. Jeremy Roenick’s 152 goals are the third-most by a Coyotes center to go along with 227 assists and 43 power play goals.

Some of the earlier players in team history were critical part of hockey’s growth in the Valley.

Related Links

Coyotes Interviews and Podcasts