Share this story...
Latest News

Arizona Rattlers ArenaBowl 3-Peat: By the Numbers

The Arizona Rattlers joined a very exclusive club Saturday.

In thumping the Cleveland Gladiators 72-32 at ArenaBowl 27, the Rattlers won their third straight Arena Football League championship.

Dynasty is a word that gets thrown around a lot in pro sports, and it’s a term that certainly fits what head coach Kevin Guy and the Rattlers have built over the last three seasons.

Here’s a look at the dominance, by the numbers:


The Rattlers’ average margin of victory in their last three ArenaBowl wins has been 22.3 points.

23 to 2

Quarterback Nick Davila has thrown 23 touchdown passes and only two interceptions in the last three ArenaBowls.


Davila has also completed almost 75 percent of his passes in those games — better than his career mark of 67.3 percent.


The opportunistic Rattlers have intercepted nine opposing in ArenaBowl action during the streak. Defensive back Jeremy Kellem leads the team with three, while Arkeith Brown and Kerry Reed each have two.


Davila’s 23 touchdown passes have gone to six different receivers — Maurice Purify (9), Rod Windsor (5), Kerry Reed (4), Tysson Poots (3), Chris Jackson (1) and Markee White (1).

6 (again)

The Rattlers’ 40-point blowout win over the Gladiators was the sixth such rout during the last three years. Their biggest margin of victory (49 points) came in a 70-21 road win over the San Antonio Talons in 2013.


Including playoffs, the Rattlers have scored 4,038 points in the 63 games since the beginning of 2012. They’ve beaten their opponents by an average score of 64-49.


Arizona’s 72-point outburst against Cleveland was the 25th time they’ve scored 70 or more since 2012.


The Rattlers’ winning percentage at Ak-Chin Community Field at US Airways Center — aka “The Snakepit” since 2012. Their last loss at home came on July 20, 2013 to the Chicago Rush. Arizona has won 13 straight at home.


In tracking the history of team sports in North America, the Rattlers achieved just the 22nd 3-peat. (Leagues researched: MLB, NFL, NBA, NHL, MLS, WNBA, MISL, NASL, CFL and the Arena Football League.)


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus