Trivia Tuesday: Home Run Derby winners over the years

Jul 17, 2018, 6:00 AM
Follow @AZSports...

You may not remember it dating back this far, but Major League Baseball All-Star festivities have included a Home Run Derby since 1985.

Four future Hall-of-Famers were in the field of 10 competitors in the first edition of the derby, held in the mid-80s at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome in Minneapolis.

The winner had six home runs that year.

A lot has changed in the 33 years since. So much so, that this year’s winner clubbed 45 dingers at Nationals Park on Tuesday night.

So that’s your challenge this week, to name all the Home Run Derby winners since its inception. We’ve given you the year and the team each slugger represented, you just need to name the player.

Further help: There were two winners in both 1986 and 1989.

You’ve got eight minutes…good luck!

Penguin Air

Arizona Diamondbacks

Arizona Diamondbacks starting pitcher Dallas Keuchel flips the rosin bag during the second inning o...
Wills Rice

D-backs avoid sweep with rollercoaster win vs. Tigers in Keuchel’s debut

Dallas Keuchel and the Arizona Diamondbacks secured an 11-7 win over the Detroit Tigers on Sunday in his debut with the team.
1 day ago
Arizona Diamondbacks' Daulton Varsho (12) celebrates his three-run home run against the Detroit Tig...
Arizona Sports

Watch: D-backs’ Daulton Varsho clears pool to cap 5-run inning vs. Tigers

D-backs CF Daulton Varsho sent a 435-foot blast at Chase Field to punctuate a five-run sixth inning Sunday against the Detroit Tigers. 
2 days ago
Arizona Diamondbacks starting pitcher Dallas Keuchel throws a pitch against the Detroit Tigers duri...
Alex Weiner

D-backs LHP Dallas Keuchel limits damage during inefficient team debut

Dallas Keuchel took the hill at Chase Field for the first time as a member of the D-backs Sunday and provided 4.1 innings.
2 days ago
Dallas Keuchel #60 of the Chicago White Sox pitches during the first inning against the New York Ya...
Arizona Sports

D-backs select LHP Dallas Keuchel to big league roster, will start Sunday

The D-backs selected LHP Dallas Keuchel from the Rookie ACL D-backs and the former Cy Young winner will make his first start on Sunday. 
2 days ago
Detroit Tigers first baseman Spencer Torkelson fields a grounder by Arizona Diamondbacks' Josh Roja...
Arizona Sports

Former ASU star Spencer Torkelson ‘trusting the process’ in rookie season

Despite his struggles to start his MLB career, former Sun Devil Spencer Torkelson is positive he will be able to turn things around.
2 days ago
Detroit Tigers' Javier Baez (28) is caught stealing by Arizona Diamondbacks starting pitcher Zach D...
Alex Weiner

D-backs drop 5th straight with loss to Tigers: ‘These are grinding times’

The Tigers took a 6-3 lead in the sixth inning Saturday night, and the D-backs never got the game-tying run to the plate.
3 days ago
Trivia Tuesday: Home Run Derby winners over the years