Share this story...
Latest News

D-backs’ Ahmed wins 1st career Gold Glove, Greinke earns 5th straight


Two of the three Arizona Diamondbacks nominated for Gold Gloves took home the hardware on Sunday night.

For D-backs shortstop Nick Ahmed, it’s his first career Gold Glove.

It should come as little surprise to D-backs fans as Ahmed pulled off a number of highlight-reel plays over the course of the season.

The shortstop had 21 runs saved and a .985 fielding percentage for Arizona.

Ahmed had some stiff competition for the award as three-time winner Brandon Crawford and San Diego’s Freddy Galvis were also in the mix.

D-backs ace Zack Greinke earned his fifth consecutive Gold Glove — his third with Arizona — after beating San Diego’s Clayton Richard and Atlanta’s Julio Teheran.

In 207.2 innings this season, Greinke had zero errors.

With the win, Greinke ties Ron Guidry, Phil Niekro and Kenny Rogers for seventh all-time among pitchers to win the award. He ties D-backs first baseman Paul Goldschmidt for the most in franchise history with three.

But that’s not all.

The pitcher also joins Greg Maddux, Niekro, Bob Gibson and Mike Mussina in the MLB record books as the only pitchers with at least five Gold Gloves and All-Star selections.

D-backs’ Jon Jay was the third D-back nominated for his play in right field, but lost out to Atlanta Braves right fielder Nick Markakis.

With the two winners, Arizona now has nine Gold Glove Award winners since 2013.

The other winners in the National League were Chicago Cubs’ Anthony Rizzo and Braves’ Freddie Freeman at first base (tie), Colorado Rockies second baseman D.J. LeMahieu and third baseman Nolan Arenado, St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina, Braves center fielder Ender Inciarte and Pittsburgh Pirates left fielder Corey Dickerson.

D-backs Interviews and Segments