Share this story...
Latest News

Women’s Premier Soccer League awards FC Arizona expansion

(Twitter Photo/@WPSL Twitter Photo)

FC Arizona announced Wednesday its plans to expand with a women’s soccer team, starting in the 2019 season.

The women’s team will play in the Women’s Premier Soccer League, which is on the second tier of the women’s soccer pyramid. Scott Taylor, the founder of FC Arizona, will also own the women’s team.

“We are excited to bring this opportunity for women to play the game at a high level and for local girls to watch a local WPSL team,” Taylor said in a press release. “I’m honored to have FC Arizona selected by the league leadership. This really means a lot for the women’s game in Arizona.”

Mesa Community College’s John Riggs Stadium will be the team’s home venue. FC Arizona Women will play in the same division as fellow Arizona teams Phoenix Del Sol and FC Tucson.

The team will be just one of the nine expansion clubs instituted for the 2019 season. According to the team, tryouts for the squad will take place late in the spring.

Several of the United States’ most noteworthy players have played in the WPSL at one point or another. Some of these players include Alex Morgan, Abby Wambach, Megan Rapinoe, Julie Foudy and Brandi Chastain.