Peralta earns first career Silver Slugger Award, Goldschmidt wins fourth

Nov 8, 2018, 5:26 PM | Updated: 11:29 pm

The Arizona Diamondbacks keep racking up awards this offseason.

After two Gold Glove winners were crowned on Sunday, Arizona showed its power at the plate with two Silver Slugger winners in David Peralta and Paul Goldschmidt.

Outfielder David Peralta took home his first career Silver Slugger Award.

The 31-year-old hit .293 with 30 home runs and 87 RBIs.

He was tied for third in MLB in game-winning RBI (14), 10th in slugging (.516) and 13th in OPS (.868). He set career marks in homers, RBIs and hits this season and had three multi-homer games.

Joining Peralta as a Silver Slugger is Goldschmidt.

The first baseman has now won the award four times, including back-to-back wins in 2017 and 2018.

With the win, Goldschmidt ties Todd Helton and Albert Pujols for the most Silver Slugger Awards since its inception in 1980.

After having a bit of a slow start, Goldy turned it on in the second half of the season.

He averaged .290 with 33 homers and 83 RBIs.

Goldschmidt was third in MLB in OPS (.922) and times on base (268), sixth in OBP (.389) and extra-base hits (73) and tied for fifth in game-winning RBIs (13).

Aaron Hill (2012), Daniel Hudson (2011), Justin Upton (2011), Micah Owings (2007) and Luis Gonzalez (2001) are the other winners in franchise history.

It is the second time in D-backs history that the team had multiple Silver Slugger winners. Justin Upton and Daniel Hudson won the awards back in 2011.

Arizona’s had a pretty good week.

On Sunday, Nick Ahmed and Zack Greinke took home Gold Gloves for their defensive efforts over the season.

Ahmed earned his first Gold Glove, while Greinke took home his fifth straight.

But that’s not all.

As a team, the D-backs earned the Wilson Defensive Team of the Year honors on Wednesday.

Greinke once again found himself holding up the hardware as he also took home the Defensive Player of the Year Award for pitchers.

Penguin Air

Arizona Diamondbacks

Arizona Diamondbacks starter Tyler Gilbert throws to an Arizona Diamondbacks batter during the firs...
Wills Rice

D-backs recall LHP Tyler Gilbert from Triple-A Reno, DFA J.B. Wendelken

The D-backs recalled LHP Tyler Gilbert from Triple-A, claimed INF Sergio Alcantara and DFA'd RHP J.B Wendelken on Tuesday.
16 hours ago
Third base coach Tony Perezchica #3 high fives Christian Walker #53 of the Arizona Diamondbacks aft...
Jake Anderson

Christian Walker making case to represent D-backs in Home Run Derby

D-backs first baseman Christian Walker is tied for seventh in all of MLB and ranked third in the NL with 21 home runs this season.
16 hours ago
Madison Bumgarner #40 of the Arizona Diamondbacks pitches in the first inning against the San Franc...
Jake Anderson

Madison Bumgarner, D-backs offense deliver in July 4 win over Giants

The Diamondbacks beat the NL West rival Giants 8-3 in front of 27,752 fans at Chase Field on the Fourth of July.
2 days ago
Tyler Gilbert #49 of the Arizona Diamondbacks throws against the Los Angeles Dodgers in the second ...
Alex Weiner

D-backs to recall LHP Tyler Gilbert to start Tuesday vs. Giants

LHP Tyler Gilbert will start for the Diamondbacks Tuesday against the Giants at Chase Field, manager Torey Lovullo said Monday. 
2 days ago
Arizona Diamondbacks relief pitcher Ian Kennedy reacts in the dugout after he was pulled from a bas...
Alex Weiner

D-backs place RHP Ian Kennedy on 15-day IL with calf inflammation

The Diamondbacks placed setup man Ian Kennedy on the 15-day injured list due to right calf inflammation, the team announced Monday.
2 days ago
(Instagram photo / Jackson Holliday)...
Alex Weiner

D-backs select SS Jackson Holliday, son of Matt Holliday, on mock drafts

Mock drafts from ESPN analyst Kiley McDaniel and's Jonathan Mayo have the Diamondbacks selecting Jackson Holliday No. 2 overall.
2 days ago
Peralta earns first career Silver Slugger Award, Goldschmidt wins fourth