Share this story...
Latest News

Looking back at the previous 6 All-Star starters for the D-backs

On the left, former Arizona Diamondbacks pitcher Randy Johnson. First baseman Paul Goldschmidt is on the right. (AP photos)

The Arizona Diamondbacks have had their fair share of MLB All-Star starters since their inception.

Ketel Marte was voted in as the starter at second base for the 2019 Midsummer Classic that will take place in Cleveland on Tuesday and is the seventh D-back to start in the event.

The previous six All-Star starters include the likes of Goldschmidt, Johnson, Gonzalez and more.

Paul Goldschmidt (2014, 2015, 2018)

After a 12-year drought of a D-backs player starting at an All-Star game, fans finally voted in their first baseman in 2014. After three All-Star starts, Goldschmidt has the most All-Star starts in franchise history. In 2014 he ended the year with a slash line of .300/.396/.542 and 19 home runs. The next season was even better for Goldschmidt, who batted .321 with an OPS of 1.005 and 33 home runs. Goldschmidt finished second in MVP voting to outfielder Bryce Harper. Both years Goldschmidt started at first base, but in 2018 he was the starter as the designated hitter. Despite a slow start to the season, Goldschmidt ended 2018 hitting .290 and an OPS of .922 with 33 home runs.

Curt Schilling (2002)

Schilling made the start in the 2002 All-Star game that had six D-backs players on the National League roster. Schilling ended the year going 23-7 with an ERA of 3.23 and a 0.97 WHIP. He would end up finishing second in NL Cy Young voting, losing to teammate Randy Johnson.

Randy Johnson (2000, 2001)

Johnson’s dominance with the D-backs began in 1999 after signing with the team and winning the Cy Young that same year. That continued into the 2000 season when Johnson went 21-6 with a 2.53 ERA. He recorded 347 strikeouts and had eight complete games that season en route to a NL Cy Young award. History repeated itself in 2001 when Johnson won another Cy Young after bolstering an ERA of 2.49 with 372 strikeouts and a WHIP of 1.009. Johnson would go on to win the next NL Cy Young award in 2002, becoming only the second pitcher to ever win four consecutive Cy Young awards.

Luis Gonzalez (2001)

In 2001, the D-backs had many key offensive contributors, none of which were more valuable than Gonzalez. He was one of two D-backs starters in that year’s All-Star game and also won the 2001 Home Run Derby. He finished the season batting .325 with an OPS of 1.117 and mashed 57 home runs. Gonzalez would go on to finish third in MVP voting that year.

Jay Bell (1999)

In 1999, there were two D-backs starters in the All-Star game. Bell started at second base and ended the season with a .289 batting average and 38 home runs.

Matt Williams (1999)

Williams was the other starter at third base and finished batting .303 with 35 home runs and 142 RBIs. Williams finished third in the MVP voting as well.

D-backs Interviews and Segments