ASU announces 2019 HOF class, includes current D-back Mike Leake

Aug 10, 2019, 7:53 PM | Updated: 10:18 pm

(Photo by Wesley Hitt/Getty Images)...

(Photo by Wesley Hitt/Getty Images)

(Photo by Wesley Hitt/Getty Images)

Arizona State’s latest hall-of-fame class has officially been announced.

Six former student-athletes from five different sports and a National Championship team will be honored for their contributions when the Sun Devils take on the Washington State Cougars on Oct. 12 at Sun Devil Stadium.

Those being inducted include Kaitlin Cochran (softball), Pam Godward (gymnastics), Mike Leake (baseball), Joe Spagnola (football), Sarah Stevens (track and field), Brett Wallerstedt (football) and the 1995 women’s golf team.

The 1995 women’s golf team went undefeated on its way to the National Championship, becoming the first women’s golf squad to not lose a game. It showed its dominance in the National Title match, winning by a total of 26 shots. The 1995 season marked the third straight year the Sun Devils took home the hardware, bolstering four first-team All-Americans.

Joining the golf team in the HOF is Leake.

Leake had an illustrious career as a Sun Devil.

Becoming the first pitcher to ever win the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year in back-to-back seasons, Leake helped ASU capture three Pac-12 Championships, while appearing in two College World Series. He was named as the National Player of the Year by the American Baseball Coaches Association in 2009 and was named a finalist for the Dick Howser Trophy and the Golden Spikes Award.

During his time at ASU, Leake went 40-6 with a 2.93 ERA, the second most victories in school history. He was later selected in the 2006 MLB Draft by the Oakland Athletics.

After spending time with the Cincinnati Reds, San Francisco Giants, St. Louis Cardinals and the Seattle Mariners, Leake is back in the desert as a member of the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Acquired at the 2019 MLB trade deadline, Leake has started one game (5.1 IP) with the team. He recorded a no-decision in the lone start.

In addition to the halftime ceremony, the ASU Hall of Fame Luncheon will take place Oct. 11, where each of the members will be honored.

Arizona State


Arizona Sports Video

Video: Arizona State embarrassed by Fresno State, State of the Sun Devils podcast reaction

Arizona State shutout at home by Fresno State 29-0 for the first time since 1988. The guys discuss the quarterback situation and the injury bug that has more than bit the Sun Devils. Video: Jeremy Schnell/Arizona Sports

9 days ago


Arizona Sports Video

Video: Activate the Valley: ASU football’s Kenny Dillingham previews Sun Devils’ matchup vs. Oklahoma State

Arizona State football head coach Kenny Dillingham joins Bickley & Marotta to preview the Sun Devils Week 2 matchup against the Oklahoma State Cowboys. Video: Felisa Cárdenas/Arizona Sports Subscribe to the Arizona Sports daily newsletter: Read articles from Arizona Sports: Download the Arizona Sports app: Sign up for texts from Arizona Sports: […]

17 days ago

Preston Summerhays...

Associated Press

ASU’s Preston Summerhays, USA earn Walker Cup win at St. Andrews

ASU's Preston Summerhays impressed, as the United States rallied to win the Walker Cup at St. Andrews on Sunday for the fourth straight time.

22 days ago


Arizona Sports Video

Video: Reaction to ASU president Michael Crow’s Pac-12 comments from the State of the Sun Devils podcast

Reaction to ASU president Michael Crow’s Pac-12 comments from the State of the Sun Devils podcast. Video: Jeremy Schnell/Arizona Sports

1 month ago


Arizona Sports Video

Video: More on ASU’s move to the Big 12 and why did the NCAA deny Jake Smith’s waiver?

The guys discuss how the NCAA has blocked one of Arizona State football’s top wideouts from playing this season, the happenings at Camp Tontozona and comments ASU vice president of university athletics Ray Anderson and ASU President Michael Crow made about the Sun Devils’ move to the Big 12.  Video: Jeremy Schnell/Arizona Sports

2 months ago

ASU announces 2019 HOF class, includes current D-back Mike Leake