Share this story...
Latest News

ASU announces 2019 HOF class, includes current D-back Mike Leake

(Photo by Wesley Hitt/Getty Images)

Arizona State’s latest hall-of-fame class has officially been announced.

Six former student-athletes from five different sports and a National Championship team will be honored for their contributions when the Sun Devils take on the Washington State Cougars on Oct. 12 at Sun Devil Stadium.

Those being inducted include Kaitlin Cochran (softball), Pam Godward (gymnastics), Mike Leake (baseball), Joe Spagnola (football), Sarah Stevens (track and field), Brett Wallerstedt (football) and the 1995 women’s golf team.

The 1995 women’s golf team went undefeated on its way to the National Championship, becoming the first women’s golf squad to not lose a game. It showed its dominance in the National Title match, winning by a total of 26 shots. The 1995 season marked the third straight year the Sun Devils took home the hardware, bolstering four first-team All-Americans.

Joining the golf team in the HOF is Leake.

Leake had an illustrious career as a Sun Devil.

Becoming the first pitcher to ever win the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year in back-to-back seasons, Leake helped ASU capture three Pac-12 Championships, while appearing in two College World Series. He was named as the National Player of the Year by the American Baseball Coaches Association in 2009 and was named a finalist for the Dick Howser Trophy and the Golden Spikes Award.

During his time at ASU, Leake went 40-6 with a 2.93 ERA, the second most victories in school history. He was later selected in the 2006 MLB Draft by the Oakland Athletics.

After spending time with the Cincinnati Reds, San Francisco Giants, St. Louis Cardinals and the Seattle Mariners, Leake is back in the desert as a member of the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Acquired at the 2019 MLB trade deadline, Leake has started one game (5.1 IP) with the team. He recorded a no-decision in the lone start.

In addition to the halftime ceremony, the ASU Hall of Fame Luncheon will take place Oct. 11, where each of the members will be honored.


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus

Sun Devils Interviews and Podcasts