Former Diamondbacks in the 2019 playoffs: Yes, it’s a significant number

Oct 9, 2019, 10:34 AM | Updated: 3:41 pm

Left to right: Max Scherzer, Chaz Roe, Will Harris (Getty Images)...

Left to right: Max Scherzer, Chaz Roe, Will Harris (Getty Images)

(Getty Images)

If you’ve been watching the 2019 MLB playoffs, you may have noticed a familiar name or two … or 16.

That’s because the Arizona Diamondbacks have 16 alumni whose teams qualified for this year’s playoffs, though 17 if you count Dansby Swanson, the team’s No. 1 overall pick in 2016 who was traded and never played a game for Arizona.

There are also D-backs alumni on this year’s playoff coaching staffs, like former D-backs managers Bob Melvin (OAK), A.J. Hinch (HOU) and Chip Hale (WAS), former D-backs players Craig Counsell (MIL), Matt Williams (OAK), Henry Blanco (WAS) and Alex Cintron (HOU), former D-backs interim manager and third base coach Al Pedrique, and probably others that we’ve left out.

Let’s be clear: Having lots of alumni in the playoffs is not necessarily a sign of mismanagement or a lament of what could have been. Retaining one player could have precluded them from acquiring or retaining another key piece, so let’s leave the “what if” in the unknown parallel universes where they belong.

But interestingly, ESPN’s David Schoenfield tallied up each team’s former players who made the 2019 postseason — both by how many they have, as well as the players’ combined WARs (wins above replacement). Schoenfield counts the D-backs as having the third-highest combined WAR of its former players behind only Oakland and Pittsburgh.

The D-backs were tied for the fourth-most former players, only behind three teams in a three-way tie for first. However, ESPN’s piece counted all players who were once part of a team’s organization — not just those who suited up in a regular season major league game. He also used the active rosters for the division series, meaning it excludes injured players and teams that were eliminated in the Wild Card games.

Also, the figure doesn’t count Ender Inciarte (Atlanta) and Jake Barrett (New York), who are injured.

So for those reasons, our list is slightly different than Schoenfield’s. Here’s our list of former D-backs players who made the playoffs, with their active MLB years for the D-backs listed in parentheses:

Zack Greinke – HOU (2016-19)
Wade Miley – HOU (2011-14)
Will Harris – HOU (2013-14)
A.J. Pollock – LAD (2012-18)
Didi Gregorious – NYY (2013-14)
Paul Goldschmidt – STL (2011-18)
Chaz Roe – TB (2013)
Patrick Corbin – WAS (2012-18)
Fernando Rodney – WAS (2017)
Daniel Hudson – WAS (2010-16)
Max Scherzer – WAS (2008-09)
Adam Eaton – WAS (2012-13)
Gerardo Parra – WAS (2009-14)
Jake Diekman – OAK (2018)
Yusmeiro Petit – OAK (2007-09)
Chase Anderson – MIL (2014-15)


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus

Arizona Diamondbacks

The Arizona Diamondbacks celebrate winning Game Seven of the Championship Series against the Philad...

Dan Bickley

Diamondbacks’ young guns ready to apply invaluable postseason experience

For a young and blossoming team like the Diamondbacks, the value of a second-place finish can be impossible to quantify.

2 hours ago

Merrill Kelly...

Kevin Zimmerman

Merrill Kelly more focused on Diamondbacks, pitch variety this spring

Merrill Kelly naturally has a more focused perspective during this spring training compared to last with the Arizona Diamondbacks.

12 hours ago

Eduardo Rodriguez...

Alex Weiner

Diamondbacks’ Eduardo Rodriguez breaks down 1st start: ‘That’s what we’re in spring training for’

Eduardo Rodriguez broke down what evaluates as a successful spring training outing after poor results in his D-backs debut.

1 day ago

Cristian Mena...

Alex Weiner

Diamondbacks prospect Cristian Mena focused on what he can control after offseason trade

Cristian Mena is adapting and impressing in his first spring training camp with the Arizona Diamondbacks after an offseason trade.

1 day ago

Blake Walston...

Alex Weiner

Diamondbacks’ Blake Walston highlights consistency after spring training debut

Diamondbacks prospect Blake Walston laid out his goals for consistency in 2024 after his spring training debut against the Athletics.

2 days ago

Stephen Vogt...

Alex Weiner

Former Diamondbacks C Stephen Vogt’s rise to manager not a surprise in Arizona

Stephen Vogt knew he wanted to became a major league manager ahead of his Arizona Diamondbacks tenure in 2020-21. 

2 days ago

Former Diamondbacks in the 2019 playoffs: Yes, it’s a significant number