PHOENIX SUNS

Non-review of clock slights Suns in final seconds of loss to Jazz

Oct 28, 2019, 10:16 PM | Updated: Oct 30, 2019, 3:51 pm

Phoenix Suns guard Devin Booker (1) looks at the officials after an NBA basketball game against the...

Phoenix Suns guard Devin Booker (1) looks at the officials after an NBA basketball game against the Utah Jazz, Monday, Oct. 28, 2019, in Phoenix. The Jazz won 96-95. (AP Photo/Matt York)

(AP Photo/Matt York)

The Phoenix Suns lost to the Utah Jazz 96-95 on Monday night but not without a controversial ending.

With less than eight seconds remaining in the game, Jazz guard Donovan Mitchell drove down the lane in an attempt for the game-winner.

But Devin Booker fouled Mitchell in the act of shooting with just 0.4 seconds left on the clock.

However, after taking a look at the replay, it appears that there should have been at least a full second left, as the home clock operator is supposed to stop the clock upon the referee’s whistle.

You be the judge.

“I have to be more clear on that. It’s one of those situations where maybe I could have,” Suns head coach Monty Williams said when asked if he could have challenged.

“That’s a tough one. I was talking to (referee) Tony Brown the whole time like, ‘At least look at it. It’s the last two minutes.’ We always talk about getting a call right. Just thought we got dealt a tough one.”

Adding to the oddity is the fact that the referees didn’t even review the play.

The Suns still had one timeout remaining that Williams could have used to draw up a final attempt to tie or even win the game at the buzzer.

Mitchell would go on to make the first free throw but missed the second so that Phoenix wouldn’t have enough time to get the rebound and heave a last-second shot.

“We looked at it. We felt like it was at least 1.8 on the clock and I tried to get them to look at it,” Williams said.

“We look at all kinds of stuff, flagrant fouls, pushing and shoving the whole game, but then a pivotal point in the game and we don’t even review it. I have to talk to the league about that because I just felt like we needed to at least look at it and see how much time we had — 1.8, that’s a lot of time. It could be 1.4. You only need 0.4 to get a catch-and-shoot off.”

Array

Phoenix Suns

Josh Okogie drives the lane...

Arizona Sports

Josh Okogie staying with Suns on a 2-year deal, team announces

The Phoenix Suns have officially re-signed shooting guard Josh Okogie to a two-year deal, the team announced Saturday.

5 hours ago

Kevin Durant #35 of the Phoenix Suns controls the ball against Taurean Prince #12 of the Los Angele...

Arizona Sports

Phoenix Suns to face Lakers, Spurs as part of group play in Emirates NBA Cup 2024

The Phoenix Suns group play opponents for the Emirates NBA Cup 2024 have been announced, which will feature the Lakers and Spurs.

1 day ago

...

Arizona Sports Video

Video: How does the money work with the Phoenix Suns? Can they do more after re-signing Josh Okogie?

How does the money work with the Phoenix Suns? Can they do more after re-signing Josh Okogie? Kellan Olson and Vince Marotta discuss.

2 days ago

Royce O'Neale of the Phoenix Suns...

Kevin Zimmerman

ESPN’s Marks: Royce O’Neale’s contract details show bargain for Suns

If we're to shrug at how Mat Ishbia cares to spend his money, Royce O'Neale's four-year, $42 million contract is a bargain.

2 days ago

...

Arizona Sports Video

Video: Jerry Colangelo talks USA basketball ahead of the Paris Olympics

Jerry Colangelo talks with Wolf & Luke about USA basketball ahead of the Paris Olympics.

2 days ago

...

Arizona Sports Video

Video: Steve Kerr: Devin Booker is a ‘perfect FIBA guy’

Vince Marotta and Kevin Zimmerman talk about the work dynamic between Team USA's Devin Booker and Anthony Edwards, while Team USA head men's basketball coach Steve Kerr shares what Booker means to the team.

2 days ago

Non-review of clock slights Suns in final seconds of loss to Jazz