PHOENIX SUNS

Non-review of clock slights Suns in final seconds of loss to Jazz

Oct 28, 2019, 10:16 PM | Updated: Oct 30, 2019, 3:51 pm
Phoenix Suns guard Devin Booker (1) looks at the officials after an NBA basketball game against the...
Phoenix Suns guard Devin Booker (1) looks at the officials after an NBA basketball game against the Utah Jazz, Monday, Oct. 28, 2019, in Phoenix. The Jazz won 96-95. (AP Photo/Matt York)
(AP Photo/Matt York)

The Phoenix Suns lost to the Utah Jazz 96-95 on Monday night but not without a controversial ending.

With less than eight seconds remaining in the game, Jazz guard Donovan Mitchell drove down the lane in an attempt for the game-winner.

But Devin Booker fouled Mitchell in the act of shooting with just 0.4 seconds left on the clock.

However, after taking a look at the replay, it appears that there should have been at least a full second left, as the home clock operator is supposed to stop the clock upon the referee’s whistle.

You be the judge.

“I have to be more clear on that. It’s one of those situations where maybe I could have,” Suns head coach Monty Williams said when asked if he could have challenged.

“That’s a tough one. I was talking to (referee) Tony Brown the whole time like, ‘At least look at it. It’s the last two minutes.’ We always talk about getting a call right. Just thought we got dealt a tough one.”

Adding to the oddity is the fact that the referees didn’t even review the play.

The Suns still had one timeout remaining that Williams could have used to draw up a final attempt to tie or even win the game at the buzzer.

Mitchell would go on to make the first free throw but missed the second so that Phoenix wouldn’t have enough time to get the rebound and heave a last-second shot.

“We looked at it. We felt like it was at least 1.8 on the clock and I tried to get them to look at it,” Williams said.

“We look at all kinds of stuff, flagrant fouls, pushing and shoving the whole game, but then a pivotal point in the game and we don’t even review it. I have to talk to the league about that because I just felt like we needed to at least look at it and see how much time we had — 1.8, that’s a lot of time. It could be 1.4. You only need 0.4 to get a catch-and-shoot off.”

Penguin Air

Penguin Air

Phoenix Suns

Devin Booker #1 of the Phoenix Suns handles the ball against Reggie Bullock #25 of the Dallas Maver...
Dan Bickley

NBA schedule gives Devin Booker, Suns an early shot at redemption

The Phoenix Suns will be able to get their first shot at redemption against the Dallas Mavericks when the 2022-23 season gets underway.
1 day ago
Follow @KellanOlson...
Kellan Olson

ASU product Josh Christopher stars in Rockets’ schedule release skit

Every year, there is going to be a team that releases its schedule in a unique way. Sometimes they hit. Sometimes they don't.
1 day ago
Los Angeles Lakers forward LeBron James, left, drives as Phoenix Suns forward Cameron Johnson defen...
Associated Press

Reports: LeBron James signs 2-year extension with L.A. Lakers

LeBron James has reportedly agreed to a two-year, $97.1 million contract extension through the 2024-25 season with the L.A. Lakers,
2 days ago
Jae Crowder #99, Chris Paul #3, Mikal Bridges #25 and Cameron Payne #15 of the Phoenix Suns react d...
Kellan Olson

Initial impressions, observations from Phoenix Suns’ 2022-23 schedule

A few areas of the Phoenix Suns' 82-game schedule we can spotlight to keep an eye on throughout the regular season.
2 days ago
Devin Booker #1 of the Phoenix Suns celebrates with Deandre Ayton #22 during the first half of Game...
Arizona Sports

Phoenix Suns’ 2022-23 schedule includes 22 national TV games

The Phoenix Suns' 2022-23 regular season schedule dropped on Wednesday highlighted by 22 games on ABC, ESPN or TNT, plus 12 more on NBATV.
2 days ago
(Screenshot/Bally Sports)...
Arizona Sports

Bally Sports+ streaming service announces launch date in September

Bally Sports announced the launch of a new streaming service for the Suns, Coyotes and regional college sports coming Sept. 26.
2 days ago
Non-review of clock slights Suns in final seconds of loss to Jazz