Share this story...
Latest News

Multiple Diamondbacks take home Gold Glove hardware

PHOENIX, ARIZONA - JULY 24: Nick Ahmed #13 of the Arizona Diamondbacks makes a running throw to first base after making a play on a ground ball hit by John Means #67 of the Baltimore Orioles during the third inning at Chase Field on July 24, 2019 in Phoenix, Arizona. Means was out at first base. (Photo by Norm Hall/Getty Images)

A number of Arizona Diamondbacks were recognized for their work defensively in 2019.

Shortstop Nick Ahmed, outfielder David Peralta, and pitchers Mike Leake and Zack Greinke received Gold Glove honors Sunday afternoon.

Ahmed captures his second Gold Glove in as many seasons.

Ahmed edged out Cardinals’ Paul DeJong and the Rockies’ Trevor Story as the shortstop led the position in the NL with 18 defensive runs saved.

Peralta adds some more hardware to his trophy case after leading NL left fielders with 10 defensive runs saved. The award marks the first Gold Glove for Peralta, who won his first Silver Slugger award in 2018.

While Leake finished the season with the D-backs, the pitcher was rewarded for his time in the American League as a member of the Seattle Mariners.

The veteran and alumnus of Arizona State made 22 starts for the Mariners this year before getting traded to Arizona, where he pitched 10 more times.

Leake had a .996 fielding percentage and 17 assists to go with just one error. He finished the year with two defensive runs saved.

The pitcher beat out the Twins’ Jose Berrios and the White Sox’s Lucas Giolitio.

Much like Leake, Greinke was honored for his play in a league he’s not longer a part of.

Greinke, who was traded by the D-backs to the Houston Astros, received his sixth Gold Glove of his career for his time in the NL, although he finished the season with the World Series runner-up Astros.

The perennial Gold Glover beat out the Cardinals’ Jack Flaherty and the Phillies’ Aaron Nola.

Not all D-backs were winners, however, as first baseman Christian Walker was edged out by the Cubs’ Anthony Rizzo.

There’s still more hardware to be won, with fans selecting one player among the nine Gold Glove recipients in both the NL and AL for the Platinum Glove award. The honor is given to the best defensive player of the year from each league.

Fans can cast their vote online.

D-backs Interviews and Segments