Share this story...
Latest News

Cardinals nominate A.Q. Shipley for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

PHILADELPHIA, PA - OCTOBER 08: A.Q. Shipley #53 of the Arizona Cardinals walks onto the field prior to the game against the Philadelphia Eagles at Lincoln Financial Field on October 8, 2017 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. (Photo by Mitchell Leff/Getty Images)

The NFL announced its 32 finalists for the sixth annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award on Thursday.

Each team will nominate one player for the accolade. And in 2019, the Arizona Cardinals selected center A.Q. Shipley.

Created in honor of the late Art Rooney Sr., the award honors the player that best exemplifies “on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.”

Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald won the inaugural Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award in 2014.

Former players from the NFL Legends Community such as Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler will choose eight finalists (four from each conference), which will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Dec. 13.

The recipient of the award will be determined by a vote from current NFL players and announced during the NFL Honors Show on Feb. 1.

But just like the Pro Bowl, players can’t vote for their own teammates.

A $25,000 donation will also be made from the NFL Foundation to a charity of the winner’s choice as well.

Cardinals Interviews and Podcasts