The top non-big-4 Arizona pro sports teams of the 2010s

Dec 26, 2019, 11:22 AM | Updated: 7:41 pm
Phoenix Mercury's Brittney Griner, left, holds the WNBA championship trophy as she stands with Dian...
Phoenix Mercury's Brittney Griner, left, holds the WNBA championship trophy as she stands with Diana Taurasi after the Mercury defeated the Chicago Sky 87-82 in Game 3 and swept the WNBA Finals basketball series, Friday, Sept. 12, 2014, in Chicago. (AP Photo/Kamil Krzaczynski)
(AP Photo/Kamil Krzaczynski)

The Phoenix Suns, Arizona Cardinals, Arizona Coyotes and Arizona Diamondbacks have combined for zero championships in the 2010s.

But that does not mean the Valley did not have its share of titles in that span. To find them, you have to go beyond the big four franchises, where the Mercury, the Rattlers and the Rising made their marks on history.

Here are the top five non-NBA, MLB, NFL or NHL professional teams of the decade in Arizona.

5. 2018 Phoenix Mercury

This Mercury team was not as dominant as another that landed higher on this list, but they were good enough to be the second-best team in the West.

They finished 20-14, had the fourth-highest scoring offense in the league and Diana Taurasi and Brittney Griner both made the All-WNBA team.

They got hot at the right time. The Mercury won four games in a row to end the regular season and handily defeated the Dallas Wings and Connecticut Star in the first two rounds of the playoffs.

In the semifinals, a best-of-five-series, they faced the 26-8 Seattle Storm.

Seattle went up 2-0 with a couple of tight wins in the Northwest, but Phoenix stormed back with a dominant Game 3 win and a hard-fought victory in Game 4.

The Storm prevailed in Game 5, but it was an intense series between the two Western-Conference powerhouses. Taurasi also broke the WNBA record for most playoff points during the series.

4. 2019 Phoenix Rising FC

The Rising came up short of the championship in 2019, but it was a historic season nonetheless.

Phoenix finished the year with 24 wins and 78 points on the table. It won the regular-season title as it had 10 more points than any other team in the league. The Rising scored 89 goals on the season, 15 more than any other club.

Their biggest accomplishment came from May 10 to Sept. 21, a span in which they did not lose. Their 20-game winning streak is the most in USL Championship and North American soccer history.

Solomon Asante led the team and league in goals and assists as he was named the league MVP.

3. 2017 Arizona Rattlers

This was the Rattlers’ first year in the Indoor Football League after spending 15 years in the Arena Football League.

It took them a moment to get settled as they started 0-2. But that bump in the road was a distant memory by the end of the regular season when Arizona had the best record in their conference at 12-4.

The Rattlers won their last eight games of the regular season and advanced to the United Bowl after defeating the Nebraska Danger 62-36 in the conference title game.

In the United Bowl, Arizona faced the 14-2 Sioux Falls Storm, the team that beat them in Week 1. The Rattlers got their revenge with a 50-41 victory propelled by a dominant first half.

2. 2014 Phoenix Mercury

It doesn’t get much better than winning the WNBA Finals after losing six games all season.

The Mercury entered the playoffs as the top seed in the league. They were 29-5 in the regular season with the best scoring offense and best defensive rating in the WNBA. They averaged winning each game by 9.5 points.

No team has ever won 29 games in a single regular season, and Phoenix kept that momentum going in the playoffs. It swept through the Los Angeles Sparks 2-0 in round one and beat the Minnesota Lynx 2-1 in round two.

The finals were a cakewalk. The Mercury faced the Chicago Sky and blew them out in games one and two by a combined margin of 50.

The third game was trickier, but a huge fourth quarter for Phoenix led to the sweep. Taurasi scored 24 points in the game and won series MVP.

She and Griner were selected to the All-WNBA team.

1. 2014 Arizona Rattlers

The Rattlers three-peated from 2012-2014. Overall, they went 43-11 during the regular seasons in that span.

In 2012, they defeated the Philadelphia Soul 72-54 in the Arena Bowl. A year later, Arizona beat the Soul again 48-39.

But the last year of the stretch in 2014 was their most dominant. They started the year 14-0, the best start in AFL history.

They stumbled into the playoffs, though, and finished the regular season 15-3.

After a close call in their first postseason game, the Rattlers got back into it in the conference championship and defeated the San Jose Sabercats, 72-56.

In the Arena Bowl, the Rattlers went up against the 17-1 Cleveland Gladiators.

The game was over by halftime. Arizona was up 44-13 at the break and won 72-32. The game MVP was quarterback Nick Davila, who also led the regular season in passing yards and won the AFL MVP.

Penguin Air
Penguin Air

Phoenix Mercury

Jennie Simms #25 of the Phoenix Mercury knocks the ball away from Kelsey Plum #10 of the Las Vegas ...
Kellan Olson

Shey Peddy suffers non-contact leg injury, Mercury fall in Game 1 vs. Aces

Phoenix Mercury guard Shey Peddy left the team's Game 1 loss to the Las Vegas Aces on Wednesday with a right leg injury and did not return.
1 day ago
Skylar Diggins-Smith #4 of the Phoenix Mercury attempts a shot against the Minnesota Lynx during th...
Arizona Sports

Mercury without Skylar Diggins-Smith, Diana Taurasi in playoff opener vs. Aces

The No. 8 seed Mercury will open the 2022 WNBA Playoffs against the top-seeded Aces on the road Wednesday without their two best players.
1 day ago
WNBA star and two-time Olympic gold medalist Brittney Griner is escorted from a court room ater a h...
Associated Press

Brittney Griner’s lawyers appeal 9-year prison sentence

Lawyers for American basketball star Brittney Griner have filed an appeal of her nine-year Russian prison sentence for drug possession.
3 days ago
Head coach Vanessa Nygaard of the Phoenix Mercury reacts during the second half of the WNBA game at...
Associated Press

Mercury drop regular-season finale to Sky, fall to No. 8 seed in playoffs

The Mercury lost their regular season finale to the Chicago Sky and will now face top seed Las Vegas to open the playoffs.
4 days ago
Sophie Cunningham #9 of the Phoenix Mercury high fives Reshanda Gray #12 after a three-point shot a...
Alex Weiner

Phoenix Mercury clinch playoff spot, will face Aces in opening round

The Phoenix Mercury are headed to the WNBA playoffs for the 10th straight year and will face the Las Vegas Aces.
4 days ago
Phoenix Mercury's Brianna Turner (21) defends against Dallas Wings guard Marina Mabrey (3) during t...
Tom Kuebel

Phoenix Mercury forward Brianna Turner wins WNBA Cares award

Mercury forward Brianna Turner became the fifth player in franchise history to win the WNBA Cares Community Assist Award.
5 days ago
The top non-big-4 Arizona pro sports teams of the 2010s