Share this story...
Latest News

Phoenix Rising to host 3 MLS teams in Visit Tucson Sun Cup

(Photo courtesy of Phoenix Rising FC)

With just two months until the start of the USL Championship regular season, Phoenix Rising’s preseason schedule has finally taken shape.

Phoenix will be the only USL club to be competing in the 2020 Visit Tucson Sun Cup, as MLS sides Columbus Crew, Houston Dynamo, New York Red Bulls, Real Salt Lake and Sporting KC will make their way down to the Valley and Tucson for their respective preseason cup campaigns.

The Visit Tucson Sun Cup will see a total of nine matches played, six of which will take place at Kino North Stadium in Tucson, home of Rising’s League One affiliate FC Tucson.

Phoenix will also be the only team that doesn’t have to travel to Tucson, as the club will host all three of its MLS preseason opponents.

Here is Phoenix’s full Visit Tucson Sun Cup match schedule:

Feb. 15 vs. Columbus Crew

Feb. 19 vs. Sporting KC

Feb. 22 vs. Real Salt Lake

All three matches will kick off at 7 p.m. at Casino Arizona Field.

Each team will play three games, which will determine the winner of the preseason cup tournament by using the standard three points per win, one point per draw and zero points per defeat.


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus