Cardinals QB Kyler Murray named to PFWA All-Rookie team

Jan 14, 2020, 12:06 PM
Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kyler Murray (1) throws against the San Francisco 49ers during the fi...
Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kyler Murray (1) throws against the San Francisco 49ers during the first half of an NFL football game, Thursday, Oct. 31, 2019, in Glendale, Ariz. (AP Photo/Rick Scuteri)
(AP Photo/Rick Scuteri)

Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kyler Murray was named to the Pro Football Writers of America All-Rookie team on Tuesday.

Murray put together a solid rookie season as the Cardinals’ starter from Day 1, completing 349 of his 542 passing attempts (64.3%) for 3,722 yards, 20 touchdowns and 12 interceptions. He boasted an 87.4 QBR, while also rushing for 544 yards and four scores on 93 carries.

His performance catapulted Murray among the top rookie performers of the 2019-20 season, but was edged out by Oakland Raiders running back Josh Jacobs for the PFWA’s 2019 Offensive Rookie of the Year award. Jacobs is just the second Raider to earn the honors, as only Marcus Allen won the award back in 1982. The RB rushed for 1,150 yards and seven touchdowns on 242 carries, pacing all rookie rushers.

While Murray didn’t take home the hardware, another NFC West rook did.

Winning both the 2019 Rookie of the Year and Defensive Rookie of the Year was San Francisco defensive end Nick Bosa. The DE is the first 49er to win PFWA’s Rookie of the Year and fifth to earn PFWA’s Defensive Rookie of the Year honors after making 47 tackles, 9.0 sacks, two forced fumbles and an interception in the regular season.

In addition to Murray’ selection, Cardinals outside linebacker Chandler Jones was named to the PFWA’s All-NFL Team on Monday.

Here’s a look at the rest of the All-Rookie team as voted on by the nation’s NFL writers:



QB – Kyler Murray, Arizona Cardinals

RB – Josh Jacobs, Oakland Raiders; Miles Sanders, Philadelphia Eagles

WR – A.J. Brown, Tennessee Titans; Terry McLaurin, Washington Redskins

TE – Noah Fant, Denver Broncos

C – Erik McCoy, New Orleans Saints

G – Elgton Jenkins, Green Bay Packers; Dalton Risner, Denver Broncos

T – Tytus Howard, Houston Texans; Jawaan Taylor, Jacksonville Jaguars


DL – Josh Allen, Jacksonville Jaguars; Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers; Dexter Lawrence, New York Giants; Ed Oliver, Buffalo Bills

LB – Devin Bush, Pittsburgh Steelers; Dre Greenlaw, San Francisco 49ers; Devin White, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

CB – Chauncey Gardner-Johnson, New Orleans Saints; Sean Murphy-Bunting, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

S – Darnell Savage, Green Bay Packers; Juan Thornhill, Kansas City Chiefs

Special Teams

PK – Austin Seibert, Cleveland Browns

P – Jamie Gillan, Cleveland Browns

KR – Mecole Hardman, Kansas City Chiefs

PR – Deonte Harris, New Orleans Saints

ST – Drue Tranquill, Los Angeles Chargers


Arizona Cardinals

Quarterback Kyler Murray #1 of the Arizona Cardinals throws a pass during the NFL game against the ...
Wills Rice

The 33rd Team: Cardinals’ Kyler Murray in Tier 1 of NFL players under 25

The 33rd Team ranked Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kyler Murray the seventh best player in the league age 25 and under.
2 days ago
DK Metcalf #14 of the Seattle Seahawks catches a pass for a touchdown against the Detroit Lions dur...
Tyler Drake

NFC West offseason outlook: The Seattle Seahawks

After taking a look at the San Francisco 49ers and Los Angeles Rams, it's time to turn the attention to the Seattle Seahawks:
2 days ago
Arizona Cardinals WR Marquise Brown looks on during minicamp on Wednesday, June 15, 2022, in Tempe....
Sam Graveline

Shook: Marquise Brown best Cards’ candidate to be 1st-time Pro Bowler

Cardinals wide receiver Marquise Brown has yet to make the Pro Bowl in his career, but's Nick Shook thinks that could change in 2022.
3 days ago
Head coach Sean McVay of the Los Angeles Rams talks with players before mini camp on June 8, 2022 a...
Tyler Drake

NFC West offseason outlook: The Los Angeles Rams

After diving into the 49ers' current state of affairs, it's time to take a look at the 2021 Super Bowl champion Rams.
3 days ago
Detroit Lions fullback Jason Cabinda (45) pulls away from Arizona Cardinals inside linebacker Isaia...
Wills Rice

PFF’s Linsey: Arizona Cardinals have NFL’s No. 23 ranked roster for 2022

Pro Football Focus' Ben Linsey has the Arizona Cardinals as the No. 23 ranked roster heading into the 2022 season.
3 days ago
Kyler Murray #1 and Justin Pugh #67 of the Arizona Cardinals react after a penalty during the secon...
Arizona Sports

ESPN: OL Justin Pugh is Arizona Cardinals’ most underrated player

ESPN posted a list made by Football Outsiders of every team's most underrated player, and Justin Pugh was selected to represent the Cardinals.
4 days ago
Cardinals QB Kyler Murray named to PFWA All-Rookie team