Share this story...
Latest News

Arizona Coyotes announce roster for training camp ahead of NHL restart

Victor Soderstrom poses for a portrait after being selected eleventh overall by the Arizona Coyotes during the first round of the 2019 NHL Draft at Rogers Arena on June 21, 2019 in Vancouver, Canada. (Photo by Kevin Light/Getty Images)

The Arizona Coyotes announced on Saturday their roster for training camp, which will begin on Monday as part of Phase 3 in the NHL’s return-to-play protocol.

Last year’s first-round pick, Victor Soderstrom, is among the names on the roster that is expanded from the normal 23-player limit that stood for the regular season. Soderstrom was selected 11th overall by the Coyotes in 2019 and played for Brynas in Sweden this past season.

Forwards Hudson Fasching, Michael Chaput and Brayden Burke were added, along with defensemen Aaron Ness and Jordan Gross. Of those aforementioned five players, only Burke and Fasching did not appear in at least one NHL game for the Coyotes this season.

The NHL announced on Wednesday that the league and its players association ratified an agreement on a four-year collective bargaining agreement (CBA) extension as well as return-to-play protocols.

The coronavirus pandemic paused the season in March, but the league will get back underway in August as 24 teams compete in series to determine the 16 that advance to the Stanley Cup Playoffs. For statistical purposes, though, the teams participating in a best-of-five series during the Stanley Cup Qualifiers — which includes the Coyotes — are considered to have made the postseason and participated in a postseason series, per a release from the league.

Here’s a look at the 32 players the Coyotes will have in training camp. Their first game in the qualifying round, in which they’ll play the Nashville Predators, is on Aug. 2.


Nick Schmaltz
Clayton Keller
Vinnie Hinostroza
Brad Richardson
Christian Dvorak
Derek Stepan
Hudson Fasching
Michael Chaput
Barrett Hayton
Carl Soderberg
Christian Fischer
Michael Grabner
Lawson Crouse
Brayden Burke
Phil Kessel
Conor Garland
Taylor Hall


Niklas Hjalmarsson
Jakob Chychrun
Oliver Ekman-Larsson
Jason Demers
Alex Goligoski
Aaron Ness
Ilya Lyubushkin
Victor Soderstrom
Kyle Capobianco
Jordan Gross
Jordan Oesterle


Adin Hill
Antti Raanta
Darcy Kuemper
Ivan Prosvetov

Coyotes Interviews and Podcasts