Big Sky conference, home to Northern Arizona, postpones fall sports

Aug 13, 2020, 10:22 AM

Head coach Chris Ball of the Northern Arizona Lumberjacks watches from the sidelines during the fir...

Head coach Chris Ball of the Northern Arizona Lumberjacks watches from the sidelines during the first half of the NCAAF game against the Arizona Wildcats at Arizona Stadium on September 07, 2019 in Tucson, Arizona. (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

(Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

The Big Sky Conference, which is home to Northern Arizona University, announced Thursday that it is postponing all fall sports until 2021.

The decision follows other conferences’ moves to do the same and is in light of concerns over the COVID-19 pandemic.

The conference’s presidents’ council met on Wednesday “to affirm this recommendation from its members’ athletic directors.”

A press release from the Big Sky said the decision affects all sports that compete in the fall for their championship season and for the non-championship segment of their season. That means that men’s and women’s cross country, soccer, volleyball, men’s and women’s golf, softball and men’s and women’s tennis are affected. The conference already decided on Aug. 6 to postpone football until the spring.

Non-conference contests aren’t allowed for fall sports, including football.

“While I am confident that our conference is making the right decision for the health and safety of our student-athletes, it breaks my heart knowing how disappointing this will be to all of them who were eagerly anticipating the opportunity to compete this fall,” Big Sky commissioner Tom Wistrcill said in a press release. “Our efforts in the conference office now will focus on doing everything within our power to make their spring season the best that it possibly can be, which includes advocating for their NCAA championships to be held then.”

Similarly, the Western Athletic Conference — which is home to Grand Canyon University athletics — postponed fall sports in an announcement on Thursday. The Pac-12 decided on Tuesday to do the same, with hope to play football in the spring, instead.

Besides NAU, Big Sky member schools include Cal Poly, Eastern Washington, Idaho, Idaho State, Montana, Montana State, Northern Colorado, Portland State, Sacramento State, Southern Utah, UC Davis and Weber State.


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus

Northern Arizona

Arizona Tip-Off basketball tournament...

Arizona Sports

Grand Canyon, NAU to play inaugural Arizona Tip-Off tournament

The Grand Canyon Antelopes and Northern Arizona Lumberjacks will participate in the inaugural Arizona Tip-Off at Desert Diamond Arena.

3 months ago

Photo via ASU football...

Arizona Sports

ASU football goes classic maroon and gold as heavy favorites vs. NAU

Quick hits and what you need to know to watch, listen or bet on the Arizona State football opener against Northern Arizona.

1 year ago

Northern Arizona quarterback Case Cookus looks down field against Arizona in the first half during ...

Sam Graveline

Report: Vikings to sign former NAU QB Case Cookus

Following three quarterbacks landing on the COVID-19 list, the Minnesota Vikings are reportedly signing former NAU QB Case Cookus.

2 years ago

NCAA President Mark Emmert. (AP Photo/Matt York)...

Associated Press

NCAA President Mark Emmert: It’s time to decentralize college sports

In a 30-minute interview with a small group of reporters, NCAA President Mark Emmert stressed he was not putting forth a mandate or even a recommendation.

2 years ago

FILE - In this March 14, 2012, file photo, a player runs across the NCAA logo during practice in Pi...

Associated Press

NCAA’s NIL era arrives, some athletes are ready to cash in

Athletes at the highest levels of college sports will be permitted to be compensated for the use of their name, image or likeness starting Thursday.

2 years ago

(Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images)...

Associated Press

NCAA moving toward hyperlocal solution to NIL as placeholder

The NCAA is lurching toward a temporary, patchwork solution in addressing name, image and likeness compensation for athletes.

2 years ago

Big Sky conference, home to Northern Arizona, postpones fall sports