Mercury’s Taurasi, Diggins-Smith selected to All-WNBA 2nd Team

Oct 5, 2020, 12:59 PM
Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi (3) is congratulated by center Brittney Griner, left, and Skyla...

Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi (3) is congratulated by center Brittney Griner, left, and Skylar Diggins-Smith (4) after scoring a basket during the first half of a WNBA basketball game against the Los Angeles Sparks, Saturday, July 25, 2020, in Ellenton, Fla. (AP Photo/Phelan M. Ebenhack)

(AP Photo/Phelan M. Ebenhack)

Phoenix Mercury star Diana Taurasi’s record of most All-WNBA team selections in WNBA history has extended to 14 this year.

Taurasi, along with Mercury guard Skylar Diggins-Smith, was selected for the 2020 All-WNBA Second Team, the WNBA announced Sunday.

Taurasi entered the 2020 season as the WNBA’s all-time leading scorer with 8,575 career points. The 38-year-old veteran posted 356 total points, 86 assists and 79 rebounds on the season, helping the Mercury secure 13 wins in a shortened 22-game season. Taurasi averaged 18.7 points, 4.2 rebounds and 4.5 assists per game.

In her first year with Phoenix, Diggins-Smith averaged 17.7 points, 3.3 rebounds and 4.2 assists per game. This is her fourth All-WNBA team selection.

The All-WNBA voting occurs at the end of the regular season by a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

First-Team honors went to Las Vegas Aces forward A’ja Wilson, Los Angeles Sparks forward Candace Parker, Seattle Storm forward Breanna Stewart, Chicago Sky guard Courtney Vandersloot and Dallas Wings guard Arike Ogunbowale.

Joining Taurasi and Diggins-Smith on the Second Team are Connecticut Sun forward DeWanna Bonner, Minnesota Lynx forward Napheesa Collier and Washington Mystics forward-center Myisha Hines-Allen.

Penguin Air

Phoenix Mercury

Phoenix Mercury's Brianna Turner (21) defends against Dallas Wings guard Marina Mabrey (3) during t...
Tom Kuebel

Phoenix Mercury forward Brianna Turner wins WNBA Cares award

Mercury forward Brianna Turner became the fifth player in franchise history to win the WNBA Cares Community Assist Award.
15 hours ago
Connecticut Sun forward Alyssa Thomas (25) drives to the basket between Phoenix Mercury guard Sophi...
Associated Press

Mercury beat Wings, move into 7th-place tie with New York

Diamond DeShields scored 24 points, Shey Peddy had 18 points and a career-high eight assists, and the Mercury beat the Wings on Friday night.
2 days ago
Phoenix Mercury guard Skylar Diggins-Smith (4) drives against Connecticut Sun guard Courtney Willia...
Arizona Sports

Skylar Diggins-Smith to miss Phoenix Mercury’s last 2 games

The Phoenix Mercury said they will sign a replacement player Friday before its next game against the Dallas Wings.
3 days ago
Phoenix Mercury guard Sophie Cunningham (9) and Connecticut Sun center Brionna Jones (42) in action...
Associated Press

Mercury’s playoff race tightens up with loss to Lynx

The Mercury's chances at a playoff spot dropped after a loss to the Lynx, a team they are competing with for one of those spots.
4 days ago
(Twitter Photo/@PhoenixMercury)...
Character Counts

Brittney Griner shoe bid matched by Diana Taurasi for cancer society

Diana Taurasi matched a bid for a Brittney Griner signed shoe bid this weekend, with all proceeds going to the American Cancer Society.
4 days ago
Arizona Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald (11) is tackled by Philadelphia Eagles safety Marc...
Arizona Sports

Larry Fitzgerald, Pedro Gomez in 2022 Arizona Sports Hall of Fame class

Arizona Cardinals legend Larry Fitzgerald and late journalist Pedro Gomez are among the 2022 class entering the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame.
4 days ago
Mercury’s Taurasi, Diggins-Smith selected to All-WNBA 2nd Team