Share this story...
Latest News

Cardinals’ Budda Baker nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

GLENDALE, ARIZONA - OCTOBER 25: Strong safety Budda Baker #32 of the Arizona Cardinals is tackled by wide receiver DK Metcalf #14 of the Seattle Seahawks after an interception during the NFL game at State Farm Stadium on October 25, 2020 in Glendale, Arizona. The Cardinals defeated the Seahawks 37-34 in overtime. (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

Fourth-year Arizona Cardinals safety Budda Baker was nominated by the team for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award on Thursday.

Baker, who was drafted in the second round of the 2017 NFL Draft by the Cardinals out of Washington, is one of 32 players nominated for the award.

Since 2014, each NFL team nominated one player that exemplifies outstanding sportsmanship on the gridiron.

The award is named after the late Pittsburgh Steelers owner Art Rooney Sr. and is voted on by members of the NFL’s Legends Community and current players.

That committee, which includes Pro Football Hall of Fame running back Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler, will select eight finalists for the honor.

Current players will vote from there, picking the winner on their Pro Bowl ballots under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category.

The players will vote on the award and this year’s Pro Bowl rosters on Dec. 18.

Baker is joined by players such as: Packers QB Aaron Rodgers, Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes, Cowboys RB Ezekiel Elliot, Bears LB Khalil Mack, Ravens DE Calais Campbell and Chargers DE Joey Bosa on this year’s list of nominees.

The winner of the award will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of their choice.

Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald was the inaugural winner in 2014, while former teammate Adrian Peterson was last year’s recipient of the award.

2020 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award nominees:

Arizona Cardinals: S Budda Baker

Atlanta Falcons: C Alex Mack

Baltimore Ravens: DE Calais Campbell

Buffalo Bills: CB Tre’Davious White

Carolina Panthers: QB Teddy Bridgewater

Chicago Bears: LB Khalil Mack

Cincinnati Bengals: LB Josh Bynes

Cleveland Browns: RB Nick Chubb

Dallas Cowboys: RB Ezekiel Elliott

Denver Broncos: CB Bryce Callahan

Detroit Lions: C Frank Ragnow

Green Bay Packers: Green Bay Packers: QB Aaron Rodgers

Houston Texans: DT Brandon Dunn

Indianapolis Colts: DE Justin Houston

Jacksonville Jaguars: DE Josh Allen

Kansas City Chiefs: QB Patrick Mahomes

Las Vegas Raiders: QB Derek Carr

Los Angeles Chargers: DE Joey Bosa

Los Angeles Rams: S Jon Johnson

Miami Dolphins: LB Kyle Van Noy

Minnesota Vikings: TE Kyle Rudolph

New England Patriots: WR Matthew Slater

New Orleans Saints: T Ryan Ramczyk

New York Giants: DB Logan Ryan

New York Jets: DL Folorunso Fatukasi

Philadelphia Eagles: C Jason Kelce

Pittsburgh Steelers: DT Cameron Heyward

San Francisco 49ers: FB Kyle Juszczyk

Seattle Seahawks: LB K.J. Wright

Tampa Bay Buccaneers: LB Lavonte David

Tennessee Titans: QB Ryan Tannehill

Washington Football Team: WR Terry McLaurin

Phillips Law Group

Cardinals Interviews and Podcasts