Phoenix Rising placed in Pacific Division for 2021 campaign

Mar 3, 2021, 10:52 AM | Updated: 11:48 am

Phoenix Rising FC goalkeeper Zac Lubin. (ArizonaSports/Ashley Orellana)...

Phoenix Rising FC goalkeeper Zac Lubin. (ArizonaSports/Ashley Orellana)

(ArizonaSports/Ashley Orellana)

Phoenix Rising FC’s 2021 USL Championship season is beginning to take shape.

The league announced on Tuesday the alignment of four divisions spread across the two conferences for the 31 competing clubs over 27 weeks.

Phoenix was placed in the Pacific Division, which is one of the three divisions with eight teams.

That means that PRFC will play each of their division opponents four times — two at home and two away.

Those teams will be the Tacoma Defiance, Oakland Roots SC, Sacramento Republic FC, Orange County SC, LA Galaxy II, San Diego Loyal SC and Las Vegas Lights FC.

However, Pacific matchups will only account for 28 of the 32 matches scheduled for this year’s campaign.

The season is also set to feature some cross-conference contests for the first time since 2018.

And after the 2020 USL Championship Final had to be canceled due to COVID-19 issues within the Tampa Bay Rowdies’ camp, the league said it would try to have Phoenix play Tampa at the beginning of this season.

So while we wait for the release of the 2021 USLC schedule, a Rising FC-Rowdies match could still be in the works.

The season officially starts on May 1, but flexible start dates can allow for clubs to commence playing anywhere from April 24 to May 15.

Phoenix Rising FC


Aaron Schmidt

Phoenix Rising FC, head coach Danny Stone part ways after blowout loss

Rising assistant coach Diego Gómez will serve as interim head coach while the club searches for Stone's replacement.

22 days ago

Arizona Coyotes CEO and president Xavier Gutierrez...

Arizona Sports

Report: Group eyes pro soccer stadium in Phoenix area, legislation that could impact Coyotes arena

A group led by a former Arizona Coyotes leader is eyeing land and legislation to potentially bring a pro soccer stadium to the Phoenix area.

4 months ago

The all-new 2024 Phoenix Rising "Todos Rojos" home kit. (Image via Phoenix Rising FC)...

David Veenstra

Phoenix Rising FC reveals new kits for 2024 USL Championship season

Phoenix Rising Football Club revealed new uniforms for the upcoming season on Thursday at Marquee Theatre in Tempe.

5 months ago

Arizona Cardinals GM Monti Ossenfort chats pregame...

Arizona Sports

Full Arizona Sports’ 2024 Newsmakers Week schedule

Leaders from the Arizona Cardinals, Phoenix Suns, Arizona Diamondbacks, Arizona State Sun Devils and more join Bickley & Marotta.

5 months ago

Phoenix Rising FC's press conference announcing the move to Gila River's Wild Horse Pass. (Arizona ...

Arizona Sports

Phoenix Rising FC no longer pursuing women’s team in USL Super League

Phoenix Rising have backed out of creating a team in the USL Super League despite approval of Division I status by U.S. Soccer for the league.

5 months ago

An exterior view of SoFi Stadium prior to a game between the Atlanta Falcons and Los Angeles Rams a...

Associated Press

US men to play 3 West Coast games in 2026 World Cup group play

The USMNT will play three games along the West Coast in its group stage for the 2026 World Cup; two in Los Angeles and one in Seattle.

6 months ago

Phoenix Rising placed in Pacific Division for 2021 campaign