ASU, NAU represented on College Football Hall of Fame ballot for 2022

Jun 2, 2021, 1:57 PM
Arizona State Sun Devils mascot Sparky the Sun Devil stands on the court during the team's first-ro...
Arizona State Sun Devils mascot Sparky the Sun Devil stands on the court during the team's first-round game of the Pac-12 basketball tournament against the Colorado Buffaloes at T-Mobile Arena on March 7, 2018 in Las Vegas, Nevada. The Buffaloes won 97-85. (Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)
(Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame released the ballot for the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame class on Wednesday.

The ballot lists 177 players, and four of them played for Arizona schools.

Arizona State was represented by former defensive end Al Harris, placekicker Luis Zendejas and head coach Darryl Rogers.

Harris was a three-time All-Conference selection and helped the Sun Devils win two conference titles. He also set the ASU career record in tackles for loss with 57.

Zendejas was the 1983 consensus First Team All-American who finished his career as the NCAA’s all-time scoring leader (380). He also led the team in scoring his first three years at ASU and was a four-time All-Pac-10 selection.

Rogers coached the Sun Devils from 1980-84. Before coming to Tempe, he spent three seasons at Michigan State, where he was named Big Ten Coach of the Year (1977) and National Coach of the Year (1978).

Northern Arizona was represented by former running back Archie Emerson.

Despite playing only two seasons in Flagstaff, Emerson finished as the school’s all-time career rushing leader with 3,196 yards. He also led NAU to its first ever I-AA playoff appearance and was named First Team All-American in 1996.

Inductees of the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame class will be announced during the 64th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 6, 2022.


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus

Arizona State Football

Utah linebacker Devin Lloyd (0) brings down Oregon State wide receiver Trevon Bradford (8) during t...
Associated Press

Utah falls to Oregon State, tied with ASU for Pac-12 South lead

With Saturday's road loss to Oregon State, Utah is now tied with Arizona State in the Pac-12 South standings.
3 days ago
BYU running back Lopini Katoa (4) carries the ball as Arizona State linebacker Eric Gentry (9) defe...
Wills Rice

ASU’s Eric Gentry makes The Athletic’s midseason Freshman All-America team

ASU freshman Eric Gentry has excelled in his first year at linebacker, making The Athletic's midseason Freshman All-America team.
3 days ago
Arizona State quarterback Jayden Daniels throws a pass during the first half of the team's NCAA col...
Nicholas Hodell

Arizona State still has path to Pac-12 South title despite no control of destiny

Arizona State may have lost control of its Pac-12 South destiny on Saturday against Utah, but there is still a lot of football to be played.
5 days ago
Running back Max Borghi #21 of the Washington State Cougars rushes the football against linebacker ...
Arizona Sports

ASU football set for noon kickoff on Oct. 30 vs. Washington State

Kickoff for the Sun Devils against the Cougars on Saturday, Oct. 30, in Tempe has been set for noon, the Pac-12 announced Monday.
8 days ago
Rachaad White #3  of the Arizona State Sun Devils congratulates teammate Jalin Conyers #12 after he...
Arizona Sports

Sun Devils drop out of AP Top 25 following Utah loss

After Saturday's 35-21 loss to Utah on the road, Arizona State has fallen out of the AP Top 25 college football rankings.
9 days ago
Utah linebacker Devin Lloyd (0) reacts after sacking Arizona State quarterback Jayden Daniels durin...
Associated Press

Utah takes hold of Pac-12 South Division after comeback win over ASU

Cameron Rising threw for 247 yards and two touchdowns, rallying Utah to a 35-21 victory over No. 18 Arizona State on Saturday night.
10 days ago
ASU, NAU represented on College Football Hall of Fame ballot for 2022