Share this story...
Latest News

Porsche wins the 24 Hours Le Mans race for record 17th time

The Porsche 919 Hybrid No17 of the Porsche Team driven by Timo Bernhard of Germany, Marck Webber of Australia and Brendon Hartley of New Zealand is seen in action during the 83rd 24-hour Le Mans endurance race, in Le Mans, western France, Saturday, June 13, 2015. (AP Photo/David Vincent)

LE MANS, France (AP) — With German Formula One driver Nico Hulkenberg behind the wheel, Porsche won the 24 Hours Le Mans on Sunday to end Audi’s five-race winning run and clinch a record 17th victory at the famous endurance race.

Hulkenberg was one of the three drivers in the No. 19 car, which finished ahead of No. 17 Porsche, featuring former F1 driver Mark Webber and Audi’s No. 7 car.

Audi had won seven of the past eight races, with Porsche’s last win coming in 1998.

Returning to Le Mans after a 16-year absence in the top category, Porsche missed out last year because of a mechanical problem as Marcel Fassler, Andre Lotterer, and Benoit Treluye drove Audi to its fifth straight title.

This time, Porsche overcame an early crash in a dominant win.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.