CBS Sports: Best team in Cardinals franchise history was 1925 version

Jun 30, 2015, 8:00 AM | Updated: 8:00 am

The Arizona Cardinals were less than one minute away from winning Super Bowl XLIII.

Yet, that squad was not the best in the franchise’s history.

So sayeth CBS Sports’ Brad Gagnon.

Gagnon looked to identify the best single season in every NFL franchise’s history, and he chose the 1925 Cardinals.

Remember them?

This is a little sad, but we’re talking about a franchise that hasn’t won a championship since 1947. The 1975 St. Louis Cardinals went 11-3 thanks to Pro Bowl quarterback Jim Hart as well as All-Pros Dan Dierdorf, Terry Metcalf, Mel Gray and Roger Wehrli, but they and the Super Bowl finalist 2008 Arizona Cardinals don’t hold a candle to the 1925 Chicago-based squad. That team outscored the competition 230-65 as part of an 11-2-1 season in which they were named NFL champs.

For what it’s worth, the Arizona Cardinals’ media guide goes all the way back to 1920, so there is some record of that 1925 team.

Led by head coach Norm Barry, the Cardinals took on foes such as the Hammond Pros, Milwaukee Badgers, Columbus Tigers, Kansas City Cowboys, Duluth Kelleys, Buffalo Bisons, Dayton Triangles, Rock Island Ind., and Pottsville Maroons. They also knocked off the Chicago Bears and Green Bay, whoever they are.

Truth is, it’s hard to argue with the numbers. Even Arizona’s Super Bowl team won just nine regular season games, and while Bruce Arians has produced seasons of 10 and 11 wins, neither team came close to winning any kind of championship or title.

Of course, the hope is that the 1925 team no longer tops the list by the end of the 2015 season.

Arizona Cardinals

Quarterback Kyler Murray #1 of the Arizona Cardinals throws a pass during the NFL game against the ...
Wills Rice

The 33rd Team: Cardinals’ Kyler Murray in Tier 1 of NFL players under 25

The 33rd Team ranked Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kyler Murray the seventh best player in the league age 25 and under.
21 hours ago
DK Metcalf #14 of the Seattle Seahawks catches a pass for a touchdown against the Detroit Lions dur...
Tyler Drake

NFC West offseason outlook: The Seattle Seahawks

After taking a look at the San Francisco 49ers and Los Angeles Rams, it's time to turn the attention to the Seattle Seahawks:
21 hours ago
Arizona Cardinals WR Marquise Brown looks on during minicamp on Wednesday, June 15, 2022, in Tempe....
Sam Graveline

Shook: Marquise Brown best Cards’ candidate to be 1st-time Pro Bowler

Cardinals wide receiver Marquise Brown has yet to make the Pro Bowl in his career, but's Nick Shook thinks that could change in 2022.
2 days ago
Head coach Sean McVay of the Los Angeles Rams talks with players before mini camp on June 8, 2022 a...
Tyler Drake

NFC West offseason outlook: The Los Angeles Rams

After diving into the 49ers' current state of affairs, it's time to take a look at the 2021 Super Bowl champion Rams.
2 days ago
Detroit Lions fullback Jason Cabinda (45) pulls away from Arizona Cardinals inside linebacker Isaia...
Wills Rice

PFF’s Linsey: Arizona Cardinals have NFL’s No. 23 ranked roster for 2022

Pro Football Focus' Ben Linsey has the Arizona Cardinals as the No. 23 ranked roster heading into the 2022 season.
2 days ago
Kyler Murray #1 and Justin Pugh #67 of the Arizona Cardinals react after a penalty during the secon...
Arizona Sports

ESPN: OL Justin Pugh is Arizona Cardinals’ most underrated player

ESPN posted a list made by Football Outsiders of every team's most underrated player, and Justin Pugh was selected to represent the Cardinals.
3 days ago
CBS Sports: Best team in Cardinals franchise history was 1925 version