The Pac-12 acknowledged the mistake made by the officiating crew in Arizona State’s loss to Washington State and announced the officials’ discipline Sunday morning.
During the second quarter of Saturday’s matchup, Washington State got a second chance at a fourth down play in the red zone because of an inadvertent whistle during their unsuccessful attempt the first time around. The re-try resulted in a touchdown that brought the Cougars within four points of the Sun Devils.
“The Pac-12 Conference has acknowledged an error by the officiating crew during Saturday night’s game between Arizona State and Washington State, Pac-12 commissioner Larry Scott announced today,” the Pac-12 said in a press release.
“The Pac-12 has reviewed the play and has determined it should have been stopped at the point when the whistle blew as forward progress was stopped short of the first down,” the press release stated. “The ball should have been turned over to Arizona State on downs. As a result, the officiating crew erred in ruling this an inadvertent whistle and not officiating the initial whistle as the end of the play.”
The line judge was given a one game suspension and the entire officiating crew was downgraded.
- Josh Doan, son of Coyotes legend Shane Doan, signs with ASU hockey
- Toledo transfer Marreon Jackson commits to Arizona State basketball
- Arizona State freshman F Marcus Bagley declares for NBA Draft
- Stanford and Arizona meet in all Pac-12 NCAA title game
- By the numbers: Arizona’s special run to face UConn in the Final Four