Share this story...
Latest News

Angry golfer Zac Blair hits himself in head with putter out of frustration, gets DQ’d

Zac Blair follows his drive off the first tee during the final round of the Sony Open golf tournament, Sunday, Jan. 17, 2016, in Honolulu. (AP Photo/Marco Garcia)

Angry golfer Zac Blair needs to chill out, but that’s not the reason he was disqualified from the Wells Fargo Championship.

Well, not directly.

Blair was DQ’d for using a “non-conforming” club (Rule 4-3b) when he finished out a frustrating hole with his putter. But just before that fateful putt, Blair slammed that same club into his head out of frustration, bending the club.

Using a club damaged in the “normal course of play” is legal but bending it on one’s head apparently does not fall into that stipulation.

The golfer took the disqualification in stride, posting an apology of sorts on Twitter with the hashtag #GottaDoBetter.

Blair also responded to the PGA’s official tweet announcing the DQ with this GIF of golfer Woody Austin similarly hitting himself in the head with his golf club.

The good news: Blair’s head is A-OK and it appears he has learned a lesson thanks to some quirky rules of golf.