Three former Sun Devils up for Hall of Fame

Mar 1, 2012, 3:33 PM | Updated: 3:35 pm

The National Football Foundation has unveiled their list
of 76 nominees for 2012 induction into the College
Football Hall of Fame, and three on the list are former
Arizona State Sun Devils.

Linebacker Bob Breunig, defensive end Al Harris and former
head coach Darryl Rogers are all on the ballot this year.

Breunig played at ASU from 1972 to 1974 and was a three-
time All-WAC selection. Breunig still ranks 5th in career
tackles in Sun Devil history with 353.

Harris (1975 to 1978) was a unanimous First Team All-
American in 1978 and was a finalist for the Lombardi Award
and the Outland Trophy the same year. That season, Harris
established a school record with 19 sacks, a mark that
stood for 24 years until it was surpassed by Terrell
Suggs’ 24 sacks in 2002.

Rogers guided the Sun Devils for five seasons (1980-1984),
compiling a 37-18-1 mark during that span. Rogers led the
1982 Sun Devils to a 10-2 record and a 32-21 win over
Oklahoma in the Fiesta Bowl.

Former Sun Devils Mike Haynes (inducted in 2001), John
Jefferson (2002), Randall McDaniel (2008), Ron Pritchard
(2003), Pat Tillman (2010) and Danny White (1998) along
with former ASU coaches John Cooper (2008), Dan Devine
(1985) and Frank Kush (1995) are already enshrined in the
Hall of Fame, which is located in South Bend, Indiana.

This year’s Hall of Fame class will be announced May 15 at
a press conference in New York, and the induction ceremony
will be held December 4 at the landmark Waldorf-Astoria

Penguin Air

Arizona State Football

(AP Photo/Ralph Freso)...
Arizona Sports

Pac-12 exploring all expansion options with USC, UCLA heading to Big Ten

The Pac-12 is looking into expansion following the decisions from USC and UCLA on Thursday to head to the Big Ten as early as 2024.
3 days ago
Basketballs are rolled off the court during the NCAAB game at McKale Center on January 03, 2022 in ...
Arizona Sports

Arizona ‘extremely disappointed’ in USC, UCLA leaving Pac-12 for Big Ten

The Arizona Wildcats broke their silence Friday regarding USC's and UCLA's plans to leave the Pac-12 for the Big Ten as early as 2024.
3 days ago
UCLA plays Oregon during a Pac-12 NCAA college football game at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif., ...
Arizona Sports

UCLA, USC to leave Pac-12 for Big Ten in 2024

UCLA and USC will be leaving the Pac-12 for the Big Ten, beginning in the 2024-25 season, the two schools confirmed on Thursday evening.
4 days ago
Defensive back Jordan Clark #1 of the Arizona State Sun Devils celebrates with the Territorial Cup ...
Nikash Nath

Kyle Soelle, Jordan Clark ready to lead new faces for ASU football

ASU junior CB Jordan Clark and senior captain LB Kyle Soelle are expected to lead a Sun Devils defensive that'll have many new faces in 2022.
10 days ago
Arizona State Sun Devils offensive lineman LaDarius Henderson (77) lines up during the college foot...
Nikash Nath

Arizona State OL LaDarius Henderson talks new culture amid low expectations

OL LaDarius Henderson has been with ASU since 2019 and is no stranger to experiencing personnel and cultural changes within the program.
19 days ago
Head coach Herm Edwards of the Arizona State Sun Devils reacts after the loss to the Utah Utes at R...
Kellan Olson

SunDevilSource’s Karpman: Scathing opinion on ASU football unsurprising

A scathing take about ASU football from an anonymous opposing coach became the topic of conversation around the state of the program.
19 days ago
Three former Sun Devils up for Hall of Fame