Two former Sun Devils receive honor from ESPN

Jan 13, 2014, 4:24 PM | Updated: 4:25 pm

Follow @Vincemarotta...

The BCS is dead.

After a 16-year run, the controversial system used to determine college football’s national champion is being replaced by a four-team playoff governed by a 13-member committee.

With the BCS now a part of the past, many are getting nostalgic, including the folks over at

Ted Miller, who covers the Pac-12 for the popular website, has put together his Pac-12 All-BCS-era team, and it features two Arizona State Sun Devils on the defensive side of the ball.

Former ASU defensive end Terrell Suggs is on the squad, as is defensive tackle Will Sutton.

Suggs, who played under head coaches Bruce Snyder and Dirk Koetter, set an NCAA record with 24 sacks during his junior season in 2002 and was named the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year in addition to winning a handful of national honors like the Bronko Nagurski Award, the Ted Hendricks Award and the Vince Lombardi Award.

Sutton, who just completed his eligibility at ASU, is one of only two two-time winners of the Pat Tillman Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year Award, having won the hardware in 2012 and 2013. In his four-year career in Tempe, Sutton registered 45.5 tackles for loss and 20.5 sacks, including 13 during his dominant junior season of 2012.


Comment guidelines: No name-calling, personal attacks, profanity, or insults. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate comments by reporting abuse.
comments powered by Disqus

Arizona State Football

Place kicker Ian Hershey #10 of the Idaho State Bengals gets a nearly mishandled punt off against t...

Arizona Sports

ASU football lands former Idaho State kicker, punter Ian Hershey

Place kicker Ian Hershey announced his commitment to Arizona State football after transferring from Idaho State.

2 days ago

Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh Panthers, college football...

Arizona Sports

Larry Fitzgerald, 3 ASU players on 2024 College Football Hall of Fame ballot

Former Arizona Cardinals great Larry Fitzgerald and three Arizona State Sun Devils are on the 2024 College Football Hall of Fame ballot.

2 days ago

Follow @AZSports...

Arizona Sports

ASU’s Dillingham: QB Jaden Rashada ‘addicted to trying to be better’

The beginning of the Kenny Dillingham era in Tempe comes with an unknown at quarterback but also a few interesting options.

7 days ago

Kenny Dillingham, ASU football head coach...

Arizona Sports

2023 ASU football schedule includes FS1 appointments in nonconference

The Arizona State Sun Devils will begin the Kenny Dillingham era with a favorable schedule of four home games in a row.

7 days ago

(Photo by Kevin Abele/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)...

Tom Kuebel

ASU receives commitment from 2024 prospect Albert Smith III

Arizona State football added a commitment from EDGE rusher Albert Smith III for its 2024 recruiting class, Smith announced on Twitter Sunday.

17 days ago

Offensive lineman Isaia Glass #73 of the Arizona State Sun Devils looks on from the sideline in the...

Wills Rice

The Draft Network: Pair of ASU offensive linemen impress at summer camp

Two Sun Devils competed in the second annual BRUTE OLine Development Camp in Minnesota this week and impressed scouts.

18 days ago

Two former Sun Devils receive honor from ESPN