ASU’s Taylor Kelly lands on Davey O’Brien Award watch list

Jul 16, 2014, 4:20 PM | Updated: 4:26 pm

Follow @AZSports...

Arizona State senior quarterback Taylor Kelly is one of 39 players named on the Davey O’Brien Award watch list released Wednesday.

Kelly, a native of Eagle, Idaho, led the Sun Devils to the Pac-12 South Division title last season when he completed 62.4 percent (302-of-484) of his passes for 3,635 yards and 28 touchdowns.

In two years as a starter, Kelly has posted an 18-9 mark while throwing for 6,674 yards and 57 touchdowns against only 21 interceptions. He’s also been a threat with his legs, running for 1,124 yards and 10 scores.

Kelly is one of eight Pac-12 quarterbacks on the list, joining Cal’s Jared Goff, Washington State’s Connor Halliday, Stanford’s Kevin Hogan, UCLA’s Brett Hundley, USC’s Cody Kessler, Oregon State’s Sean Mannion and Oregon’s Marcus Mariota.

Last year’s O’Brien recipient, Florida State’s Jameis Winston, is also on the list. Winston would also win the Heisman Trophy in his redshirt freshman season for the BCS champion Seminoles.

The Davey O’Brien Award is presented annually to the best collegiate quarterback in the country. The 38th annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 16, 2015 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Arizona State Football

(Photo by Kevin Abele/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)...

Tom Kuebel

ASU receives commitment from 2024 prospect Albert Smith III

Arizona State football added a commitment from EDGE rusher Albert Smith III for its 2024 recruiting class, Smith announced on Twitter Sunday.

8 days ago

Offensive lineman Isaia Glass #73 of the Arizona State Sun Devils looks on from the sideline in the...

Wills Rice

The Draft Network: Pair of ASU offensive linemen impress at summer camp

Two Sun Devils competed in the second annual BRUTE OLine Development Camp in Minnesota this week and impressed scouts.

9 days ago

Follow @AZSports...

Character Counts

What a Guy: Former ASU lineman gifts Mother’s Day bouquets at hospital 

Former ASU defensive lineman and current Patriot Lawrence Guy provided a thoughtful gesture while his family was welcoming its fourth child.

11 days ago

Kori Roberson ASU football...

Jake Anderson

Arizona State lands former Oklahoma DL Kori Roberson via transfer portal

Former Oklahoma defensive lineman Kori Roberson announced his commitment to Arizona State via the transfer portal on Tuesday.

13 days ago

Kyle Soelle speaks at rookie minicamp...

Tyler Drake

Cardinals’ Kyle Soelle ‘blessed’ to get chance with hometown team

Former ASU Sun Devils linebacker Kyle Soelle is looking to make his mark with his hometown team, the Arizona Cardinals.

16 days ago

(Facebook photo/Cade Briggs)...

Tom Kuebel

Arizona State adds OL transfer Cade Briggs from Texas Tech

Arizona State added to its offensive line with the commitment of transfer Cade Briggs from Texas Tech.

18 days ago

ASU’s Taylor Kelly lands on Davey O’Brien Award watch list